Move Equiv Action + 5 ft step?


log in or register to remove this ad


Yes, as long as you don't move, you can make a 5 ft. step. Substituting the move is not the same as moving.

Bye
Thanee
 


I'm amazed at the number of people that don't realize that you can take a SA, a MEA (as long as it's not actual movement) and a 5 foot step all in one round. I've seen highly experienced players and DM's not know this basic rule. To me it was perfectly clear, but there seems to be some confusion or ambiguity in the way it's presented it seems.
 

Arravis said:
I'm amazed at the number of people that don't realize that you can take a SA, a MEA (as long as it's not actual movement) and a 5 foot step all in one round. I've seen highly experienced players and DM's not know this basic rule. To me it was perfectly clear, but there seems to be some confusion or ambiguity in the way it's presented it seems.

If we are talking 3.0, the Move Equivalent Action is actually part of the Standard Action, not in addition to it.

If we are talking 3.5, there is no such thing as a Move Equivalent Action. There are Move Actions (no 'equivalent') and Standard Actions (not the same as a 3.0 Standard Action).


glass.
 

Semantics aside, I think you misunderstand my point.

A good number of players/dm's that I've met weren't aware that you could do a move action that isn't movement (ie: drawing a weapon, pick up an item, etc), a standard action (ie: one attack, cast a spell, etc), and a 5-foot step all as one round. They were under the impression that a any move-actions disallows a 5-foot step. Thus, they thought that 5-steps are mostly used only for full-attack actions.

Personally, I can't imagine playing a game that way, but it seems a common misundestanding (I know two groups that have been doing it that way since the beginning of 3.0, until recently). Anway, it seems to be a fairly common misconception... I'm trying to figure out why. I think part of it is the naming convention. Why not simply name Movement actions, Partial actions (or something else). The "movement" part of Movement actions might be causing the problem.
 

Some relevant quotes from the RSRD (3.5 rules). Emphasis added.
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement.
The simplest move action is moving your speed. If you take this kind of move action during your turn, you can’t also take a 5-foot step.
After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out. If you’ve already taken a 5-foot step, you can’t use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.
 

Well, the problem comes from the slightly ambiguous wording in 3.0, where it said, that you can make a 5-ft. step, if you do not move, but it does not really say, whether a MEA is a move or not.

I mean, if you stand up, or pick somthing up, you certainly do move, but just not in the sense meant here, which is leave your position more than body movement.

Bye
Thanee
 

Arravis said:
Semantics aside, I think you misunderstand my point.
I understood your point. I was commenting on an (IMHO even more common) missconception. One which you appeared to be suffering from.

It is hardly semantics to point out that you are missdefining game jargon.

A good number of players/dm's that I've met weren't aware that you could do a move action that isn't movement (ie: drawing a weapon, pick up an item, etc), a standard action (ie: one attack, cast a spell, etc)...
Except 'one attack, cast a spell, etc' was not a Standard action, it was a Partial Action. 'one attack, cast a spell etc' plus move (or MEA) was a Standard Action.


glass.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top