"Moves into" vs. "enters"


log in or register to remove this ad

For what it's worth; the shifting rules read literally also permit OA's against creatures shifting from a non-adjacent square, so threatening reach and the Ranger's Spitting Cobra Stance could both trigger off a shift.

I'm not too thrilled with that state of affairs, but as far as I can tell, there's no way around it.

Edit: I just noticed the MM faq suggests that shifting never provokes Opportunity Attack's. I don't think that's the best place for a rules update, but considering the vague wording in the PHB (which suggested that this was the intent all along), it's enough for me: using that ruling, Threatening Reach and Polearm Gamble would not trigger on a shift. Spitting Cobra Stance is, however, an Opportunity Action, thus unaffecting by this ruling.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top