Multiple AOOs against full-attack action?

rodonell

First Post
Hey,

The situation I'm trying to resolve in my group is if the individual attacks from a full-attack action would each provoke an AOO (assuming they're action wich provoke). The wording gets sticky because it's you can either see each attack as an opportunity or that the whole full-attack action is a single opportunity.

The example I pose is a fighter with combat reflexes, a high dexterity and a melee weapon standing next to a ranger with multliple attacks per round using a full-attack action who wields a longbow. If the rangers fires against a distant foe, does the fighter get AOOs against each attack in the ranger's full-attack for that round or just a single attack again the ranger?

Thanks,
rodonell
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yep, especially devastating with Robiar's Gambit. Oh, what's that, you stupid gargoyle? You get a claw, another claw, a bite, and a gore? Well I get to smack you with my sword, smack you with my sword, smack you with my sword, smack you with my sword, and then smack you with my sword iteratively. Thanks for trying!
 


Every shot that ranger takes in your threatened area gets you an AoO. Yay combat reflexes :P

What is the difference then regarding movement through many threatened squares and AoO?

If moving (as one action) through multiple squares triggers only a single AoO, why does a full attack (as one action) which shoots multiple arrows trigger multiple AoOs?

Is there a phrase that I'm missing, or something a bit more subtle?
 
Last edited:

Shooting a bow within threatened squares provokes AoO's. A player with combat reflexes will get 1 plus that of his dex mod in AoO's within a round. So every shot taken by the bow would provoke AoO's.
 

What is the difference then regarding movement through many threatened squares and AoO?

If moving (as one action) through multiple squares triggers only a single AoO, why does a full attack (as one action) which shoots multiple arrows trigger multiple AoOs?

Is there a phrase that I'm missing, or something a bit more subtle?
"Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent." PHB, page 138.

So you see, there is an explicit exception for moving out of multiple squares. There is no such exception for full attacks.
 

Yep, especially devastating with Robiar's Gambit. Oh, what's that, you stupid gargoyle? You get a claw, another claw, a bite, and a gore? Well I get to smack you with my sword, smack you with my sword, smack you with my sword, smack you with my sword, and then smack you with my sword iteratively. Thanks for trying!

LOL.:lol:
 

How would it go between a fighter with robilar's gambit and epic combat reflexes, and a hydra with robilar's gambit?

Hydra attacks with all 12 heads, fighter gets to make 12 extra attacks, but each would in turn provoke 12 attacks back from the hydra? :confused:

For sanity's sake, I think I would rule that you provoke no more than 1 attack this way from a full attack.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top