Multiple Critical Hits?

Miklovas

First Post
Quick question:

I've read that, when targeting multiple creatures, you roll separate attack rolls, but a single damage roll.

So what happens when one of those attack rolls is a critical hit? My group encountered this in our first encounter, and we haven't found a rule for it. Some said that all the targets take critical damage, while others said that only one target takes critical damage (the one hit with the crit), and the rest take a normal, single damage roll.

Sorry if this has already come up, couldn't find anything on it though.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Quick question:


Some said that all the targets take critical damage, while others said that only one target takes critical damage (the one hit with the crit), and the rest take a normal, single damage roll.

Sorry if this has already come up, couldn't find anything on it though.

Where did you find these examples?
 


Those targets hit with the power all take the same rolled damage.
Those missed with the power all suffer the same miss effect (if rolled separately than the hit damage).

I'm not 100% sure on this but I think that those Crited by the spell all take the same rolled extra damage.
 


Those targets hit with the power all take the same rolled damage.
Those missed with the power all suffer the same miss effect (if rolled separately than the hit damage).

I'm not 100% sure on this but I think that those Crited by the spell all take the same rolled extra damage.

Close.

Miss - Suffer miss effect (often half damage).
Hit - Suffer the rolled damage.
Crit - Suffer the max normal damage + roll crit damage.

If I use a wand that adds +1d6 to crits to cast scorching burst on four guys, I roll 4 attack rolls:

5 (miss), 13 (hit), 17 (hit), and natural 20 (crit).
I roll 1d6+5 damage getting a 4+5 = 9

One takes nothing, two take 9 damage, and one takes 11 + d6 (crit damage).
 

Close.

Miss - Suffer miss effect (often half damage).
Hit - Suffer the rolled damage.
Crit - Suffer the max normal damage + roll crit damage.

If I use a wand that adds +1d6 to crits to cast scorching burst on four guys, I roll 4 attack rolls:

5 (miss), 13 (hit), 17 (hit), and natural 20 (crit).
I roll 1d6+5 damage getting a 4+5 = 9

One takes nothing, two take 9 damage, and one takes 11 + d6 (crit damage).


Right ... that's what I Tried to say. What I'm not 100% clear on if if two targets are crited by your scorching blast do you roll the extra d6 once for both or twice (once each)?
 


Remove ads

Top