My feats and their scrolls...

Three_Haligonians

First Post
Help me out here,


Somewhere it states that when using a scroll, your character doesn't get to apply the benefit of any feats that would boost or improve the spell that you have and otherwise would get if you cast the spell yourself. The notable exception being staves - that is one of their perks.

But.. where does it say this? I know I can't get my Spell Focus: Enchantment on their Charm Person.. I just can't prove it.

J from Three Haligonians
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SAVING THROWS AGAINST MAGIC ITEM POWERS
Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staffs are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DC.

Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly).


and

Staff Descriptions
Staffs use the wielder’s ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells. Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of a staff if it’s higher than the caster level of the staff.

This means that staffs are far more potent in the hands of a powerful spellcaster. Because they use the wielder’s ability score to set the save DC for the spell, spells from a staff are often harder to resist than ones from other magic items, which use the minimum ability score required to cast the spell. Not only are aspects of the spell dependant on caster level (range, duration, and so on) potentially higher, but spells from a staff are harder to dispel and have a better chance of overcoming a target’s spell resistance.


-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top