Nalfeshnee SMITE -- full round action?

Nail

First Post
Needless to say, my players should stay out of this thread. :]


A few questions:
  • Does the Nalfeshnee's smite(Su) ability take a full round to activate?
  • If not, then when, on the following round, does it activate? Exactly one round after it is started, or at the very beginning of the Nalfeshnee's turn?

Here's the relevant SRD quote:
Smite (Su): Three times per day a nalfeshnee can create a nimbus of unholy light. When the demon triggers the ability, rainbow-colored beams play around its body. One round later they burst in a 60-foot radius. Any creature within this area must succeed on a DC 22 Will save or be dazed .....(snip)

Is the following correct, for example:

Round 1: Demon uses a move action, then actives the Smite ability as a Std action.
Round 2: Demon moves again, then the Smite ability "goes off".

See how the move action is snuck in before the smite ability actually does its business?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It would require a standard action to activate and would take effect at the start of the creature's next turn, IIRC. Well, the spell would become active immediately but the effects would begin the following round. Or you could interpret it that the spell is building in power and does not take effect until the following round.
 

I'd treat it similar to a spell with a 1 round casting time.

Your standard action in round 1 is to begin the ability, it builds DragonBall Z-style for a single round, and right before your initiative on Round 2 it activates.
 

The rules never state an activation time, so defaulting to standard action is probably okay. Most "next round" actions occur at the monster's initiative before that round's actions. So he can activate and move, but it goes off before he can move again.
 

Smite is a Supernatural ability

Supernatural Abilities: Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability’s description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

So it could move it's normal move....activate the Smite...then one round later it would go off.....
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I'd treat it similar to a spell with a 1 round casting time.

Your standard action in round 1 is to begin the ability, it builds DragonBall Z-style for a single round, and right before your initiative on Round 2 it activates.
From a "balance" perspective, this is probably best....but the rules for Su powers says standard action, as Squire James, etc have said.

But if it's a standard action, that starts a "timer" for one round, right? Then wouldn't it matter *when* during the round the demon activated it?
 

Nail said:
From a "balance" perspective, this is probably best....but the rules for Su powers says standard action, as Squire James, etc have said.

But if it's a standard action, that starts a "timer" for one round, right? Then wouldn't it matter *when* during the round the demon activated it?

Nope. You're reading too much into the ability.

Specifically, the ability is:

SRD said:
Three times per day a nalfeshnee can create a nimbus of unholy light.

That light builds for one round, and then, one round later, explodes and has a mechanical effect.

The nalfeshnee cannot choose to increase or reduce the build-up.

For a similar timing issue, examine the monk's Stunning Fist. He can use it as part of a standard action and, presumably, it takes effect at the end of that action. So a monk can move forward 30' and make a single melee attack as a standard action, employing his Stunning Fist.

When does the Stunning Fist (which works for 1 round) end?

Immediately before the monk's initiative, even though it "went last" during his turn.

Similarly, it doesn't matter when during his turn the nalfeshnee initiates the detonation sequence. It blows up immediately before his initiative during the next round.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
When does the Stunning Fist (which works for 1 round) end?

Immediately before the monk's initiative, even though it "went last" during his turn.

Similarly, it doesn't matter when during his turn the nalfeshnee initiates the detonation sequence. It blows up immediately before his initiative during the next round.
Excellent example. Thanks!
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top