Need help with darkness/invis in combat

Actually, Darkness can only be cast on an object, not a creature. It might not always be true that the square the darkness originates from is the square with the creature. Not to mention, where on the creature is the object?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In the case of my scenario, the NPC is wearing an amulet-like object (neck) which is the source of the darkness effect. It's not a standard DMG wondrous item, but all it does is affect a continuous darkness - my players have yet to discover the limits of its power. When the wizard transformed into the bat, the dark amulet was included into the new form, just as any other magic item would.
 


Well.., the properties and function of this item are not really the subject of this topic. :)

However, I can now see how the polymorph rules would tend to suppress the effects of any magic item in this case, since bats don't use equipment. So perhaps that entire scheme was off - I was making up the entire encounter on the fly, and was just trying to make it interesting.

Still, would a permanent effect on an object be suppressed if that object was subsequently incorporated into a polymorph creature? Perhaps so. Oh well, my bad I guess. :p
 
Last edited:

Actually, this is exactly what a wilding clasp is for, from Masters of the Wild. It prevents the item it's attached to from melding into your new form so its effects still function when you're polymorphed .

So all you have to do is slap a wilding clasp on your amulet, and voila, it's available and functioning while in bat form.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top