D&D 5E Need to clarify a cleric rule

Solovar7

First Post
Regarding spell casting, the way we understood this rule from it's example. Lets say i have 3 slots in level 3 spells. I prayed for, spirit guardians, revivify and remove curse. Two characters get cursed which i cast a remove curse spell which leaves me with 2 slots left in level 3 spells. Can i exust a level 3 slot to recast the same spell, removing the other curse or must i take a long rest so i can use the remove curse spell again?

regards
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From the PHB pg. 58:
If you prepare the 1st-level spell cure wounds, you can cast it using a 1st-level or 2nd-level slot. Casting the spell doesn’t remove it from your list of prepared spells.
 



3 Spells prepared = spell X, spell Y, and spell Z.

3 Spell slots = allows any combination of spells X,Y and Z.

So you can cast XYZ, XXY, XXZ, XXX, YYX, YYZ, YYY, ZZX, ZZY, ZZZ.

Plus you can cast certain lower level spells (eg Spell A) at higher spell slots, so you could cast XXA.

Make sense?
 

If you have played 3rd edition or Pathfinder, the easiest way of thinking of it is as if all non-warlock spellcasters work like 3e sorcerers, except some of them (clerics, druids, wizards) can change their spells from day to day.
 

Remove ads

Top