Negative Bonus?

knifie_sp00nie

First Post
I'm wanting to take the Cleric power "Divine Aid", but have a negative Cha modifier. Since it's a bonus, does the negative apply, or is it just zero?

Effect: The target makes a saving throw with a bonus equal to your Charisma modifier.

And if it does count as zero, where in the rules does it say?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In the PH, on page 58, it mentions that negative modifiers used to apply penalties don't count (under Applying a Penalty), but I haven't found anything equivalent for Applying a Bonus.

I'd be inclined to say minimum 0... but I haven't finished looking.
 
Last edited:

In the PH, on page 58, it mentions that negative modifires used to apply penalities don't count (under Applying a Penalty), but I haven't found anything equivalent for Applying a Bonus.

I'd be inclined to say minimum 0... but I haven't finished looking.

I think I would go with this. I personally wouldn't care what the rules say or don't say; it would be totally ridiculous to apply a negative modifier to a power that's supposed to be a bonus. A bonus of 0 I could live with, but a bonus of -1 (or more!)? :confused: Not so much.

Just my 2cps.
 

If you have a penalty in a stat, you apply the penalty of that stat. If you're not going to apply it when it's inconvenient, what then is the difference between an 8 and a 10?

The exception for Applying a Penalty is there so you don't start giving bonuses to the enemy. So if you had a power that said "the enemy suffers a penalty to AC equal to your Charisma modifier", and you had a -1 penalty there, you don't suddenly give him a +1 AC.

Otherwise, if the power says "gain a bonus to the damage roll equal to your strength modifier", and you have -1 modifier, you wouldn't ignore that penalty. Similarly if the power says make a saving throw with a bonus equal to your charisma modifier, you should be applying that -1 modifier.
 


I thought the rule was:
If a power/ability/feat/whatever says to apply a your BONUS, then you do not apply negative modifiers, only positive ones.

if a power/ability/feat/whatever says to apply a PENALTY, then you do not apply positive modifiers, only negative ones.

if a power/ability/feat/whatever says to apply your MODIFIER, then you apply both positive and negative modifiers.

I could be wrong, as I can't look it up right now, but that is what I recall at the moment.
 

Remove ads

Top