Net? Help!!!

Net:

A net is used to entangle enemies. When you throw a net, you make a ranged touch attack against your target. A net’s maximum range is 10 feet. If you hit, the target is entangled. An entangled creature takes a –2 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty on Dexterity, can move at only half speed, and cannot charge or run. If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the entangled creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows. If the entangled creature attempts to cast a spell, it must make a DC 15 Concentration check or be unable to cast the spell.
An entangled creature can escape with a DC 20 Escape Artist check (a full-round action). The net has 5 hit points and can be burst with a DC 25 Strength check (also a full-round action).
A net is useful only against creatures within one size category of you.


So, the question is:

Can an entangled character inside of a net draw a small weapon and cut the net open?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad



If I'm reading the rules here and under the Entangled condition (in the SRD) correctly, he can draw any weapon and use it to cut his way out. I would house rule it to only light weapons as you suggest.
 


How would you folks determine what happens when a creature is entangled by multiple nets?

Let's say there's a 15th level character with Boots of Speed, Two-Weapon Fighting feat and Quickdraw feat. He hurls five nets at an opponent in one round and entangles that opponent with all of them.

Would the entangled opponent be able to break out of all of the nets at the same time, or would each attempt require a full-round action?

If the entangled opponent attacks the nets with a weapon (Sundering the nets, HP 5 each), would it require one attack per net or just one attack againsta all five nets?

The creature is entangled. Five times. Would the attack and Dex penalties be cumulative? (-10 attacks, -20 Dex.) The penalties are clearly from different sources, so the stacking rules say they should. What happens to a character who has 0 Dex due to this kind of penalty?

SRD
ABILITY SCORE LOSS

Various attacks cause ability score loss, either ability damage or ability drain. Points lost to ability damage return at the rate of 1 point per day (or double that if the character gets complete bed rest) to each damaged ability, and the spells lesser restoration and restoration offset ability damage as well. Ability drain, however, is permanent, though restoration can restore even those lost ability score points.
While any loss is debilitating, losing all points in an ability score can be devastating.
• Strength 0 means that the character cannot move at all. He lies helpless on the ground.
• Dexterity 0 means that the character cannot move at all. He stands motionless, rigid, and helpless.
• Constitution 0 means that the character is dead.
• Intelligence 0 means that the character cannot think and is unconscious in a coma-like stupor, helpless.
• Wisdom 0 means that the character is withdrawn into a deep sleep filled with nightmares, helpless.
• Charisma 0 means that the character is withdrawn into a catatonic, coma-like stupor, helpless.

Keeping track of negative ability score points is never necessary. A character’s ability score can’t drop below 0.

Having a score of 0 in an ability is different from having no ability score whatsoever.

Some spells or abilities impose an effective ability score reduction, which is different from ability score loss. Any such reduction disappears at the end of the spell’s or ability’s duration, and the ability score immediately returns to its former value.

If a character’s Constitution score drops, then he loses 1 hit point per Hit Die for every point by which his Constitution modifier drops. A hit point score can’t be reduced by Constitution damage or drain to less than 1 hit point per Hit Die.

The ability that some creatures have to drain ability scores is a supernatural one, requiring some sort of attack. Such creatures do not drain abilities from enemies when the enemies strike them, even with unarmed attacks or natural weapons.

Does this concept apply to circumstances that apply a penalty to an ability scrore, or just to ability damage or ability drain?


Would it be any different if the opponent were entangled by three nets and two tanglefoot bags?

I'm thinking that the effect of being entangled by a net or by a tanglefoot bag is a condition called "entangled." This condtion, no matter how many reasons why it applies to you (Entangle spell, net, tanglefoot bag, whatever), imposes the penalties. Having multiple reasons why you're entangled doesn't impose the penalties more than once.

What do you think?
 

Entangled is a condition that doesn't stack with itself. If it did, it would say so. For example, if you are fatigued and become fatigued again, you become exhausted, but only because it says so. If you are entangled and become entangled again, you're still only entangled.

But, you must break out of each entangle separately. You would have to break each net separately or cut yourself out of each. No matter how many nets are on you, though, you would only be subject to a single entanglement's worth of penalties. It would be entirely within the rules, however, for the DM to impose additional, circumstantial penalties, but that's the DM's call and he should be prepared to defend himself.
 

Yes, house rules would abound in a situation like this (as they should). If it were me, I would rule that you could attempt to burst all the nets at once, but the DC would increase by 2 for each additional net (like an Aid Another action, basically). I would also allow attacking them all at once, with each 5 points of damage sundering one net.

Where's he quick drawing them all from? Those things are bulky. Can't be a bag of holding or Handy Haversack since it takes a move action to retrieve things from it.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top