New podcast from wizards , i dont understand OA's.

Evenglare

Adventurer
The DM says , after a question from the wizard, that his magic missle is a ranged attack. The DM says that the wizard could make an opportunity attack because it specifies that its a ranged attack. BUt in the rule books it says opportunity attacks must be made by melee attacks. What gives?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, MM does count as a basic ranged attack. Some powers key off using a basic attack. For most people that would be a simple bow shot. For wizards and warlocks, they can also use their magic.

I think the DM misspoke on the specifics though.
 



Chris Perkins playtested a lot of versions of D&D. He probably has some troubles keeping the rules straight. I know I would.
 

Evenglare said:
The DM says , after a question from the wizard, that his magic missle is a ranged attack. The DM says that the wizard could make an opportunity attack because it specifies that its a ranged attack. BUt in the rule books it says opportunity attacks must be made by melee attacks. What gives?

I haven't actually listened to the podcast yet, but are you sure he wasn't saying magic missile provokes OAs because it's a ranged attack?
 

From what I read elsewhere, I think that podcast was rather old, and thus it was assumed that at the time , yes you could use MM as a OA, but you can no longer.
 



Remove ads

Top