shai-hulud
First Post
According to the 3.0 ruling, any creature with 1 racial HD drops that HD when gaining class levels. 3.5, though, has a new ruling:
So, with the 3.5 ruling, a Pixie Sorcerer 1 would be a minimum 6th level character (1 HD Pixie, 1 HD Sorcerer, +4 level adjustment). But what about a Jermlaine? They only have ½ HD. (They are from Monster Manual II). Under their advancement options, they can be 1-2 HD, although the base one is not. If one were to keep the ½ HD, they would only be a ½ level character. If they add one class level ON TOP of that, then they are 1.5 level. Does that round up? Can you not be a Jermlaine with no class level? Do you start with 1 HD Jermlaine? Is the Jermlaine an exception to that Rules of the Game ruling (they drop the ½ HD)?
[url=http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20060411a]Rules of the Game[/url] said:When a creature of the humanoid type with one racial Hit Die or fewer gains its first class level, the racial Hit Die is dropped in favor of the class Hit Die. Creatures of other types simply add the class Hit Die to their existing Hit Dice, even if they have only one racial Hit Die. (The text dealing with monsters as races in the Dungeon Master's Guide doesn't make this clear, but the text in the Monster Manual does; see page 290). If the creature has levels from other classes, the Hit Die from the new class is added to the creature's total Hit Dice.
So, with the 3.5 ruling, a Pixie Sorcerer 1 would be a minimum 6th level character (1 HD Pixie, 1 HD Sorcerer, +4 level adjustment). But what about a Jermlaine? They only have ½ HD. (They are from Monster Manual II). Under their advancement options, they can be 1-2 HD, although the base one is not. If one were to keep the ½ HD, they would only be a ½ level character. If they add one class level ON TOP of that, then they are 1.5 level. Does that round up? Can you not be a Jermlaine with no class level? Do you start with 1 HD Jermlaine? Is the Jermlaine an exception to that Rules of the Game ruling (they drop the ½ HD)?