Offhand Staff of Ruin: Yea or Nea?

Does the Staff of Ruin's bonus item damage apply in this situation?

  • Yea

    Votes: 4 11.8%
  • Nea

    Votes: 30 88.2%

I say no. Check with AV notes on weapon properties.


Emphasis mine.

This particular aguement does not apply. That statement applies to weapons, not implements. (It's at the beginning of the weapon section, and similar language is not at the beginning of any of the implement sections.)

Even if there are properties that work while only holding the weapon/implement and attacking with another, you cannot deduct from that that it is a general rule.

The FAQ specifically allows you to gain the properties of an implement in your off-hand, even when attacking with the implement in your main hand (however many implement have language limiting the property to attacks made with the implement.)

I think it's an oversight by the AV writers - it should only apply to attacks made with this impement, but they didn't include that language in the property. So, technically it works, at least for now.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Remove ads

Top