Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium. New things: [NEW] Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature...
Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium.

New things:

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figuratively—the type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes, different effects stack if they don’t have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]
You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Player’s Handbook [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? It’s hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes aren’t weapons? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can the rogue’s Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesn’t use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesn’t qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades don’t work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isn’t sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after you’ve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the game’s rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, you’re also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]If the damage from [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. The [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell turns you into dust only if the spell’s damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If you’re a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? Does the druid simply leave beast form? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druid’s normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Using 5-foot squares, does [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]affect a single square? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT](5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]PH[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]MM[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 11) states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]stinking cloud [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
 

I answered this 2 posts ago.

1) Move
2) Disengage
3) Move (this does not provoke OAs)

Yes, you can move after you Disengage. The effect of that action lasts for the duration, which in this case is the end of your turn.

Do you believe the rules state that you can only move before or after an action (except for the attack action which the rules give a clear exception for)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


While I'm not of the opinion that actions can just be divided, there is an interpretation that says that they can. If they are divisible, then your conclusion is inherently flawed, and your method of reaching your conclusion doesn't disprove the divisibility theory.

My conclusion only depends on 2 premises. 1) you can move after taking the disengage action (RAI) and 2) you can only move before or after an action (RAW).

The part you are complaining about being an assumption is how arguments by contradiction work. They assume one something (along with other statements that are facts and not assumptions) in order to show the assumption false and thus prove that the opposite of that assumption is true. You literally can't have an argument by contradiction without an assumption, it's part of how that mode of argumentation works. It's a mathematically valid mode of proof as well. Some fascinating things have been proven by contradiction proofs.

I don't have to worry about whether actions are inherently divisible or indivisible, just whether movement can divide them.

It's okay to hold the position that in your opinion actions work like X, Y and Z, but that doesn't mean that you've shown proof that other theories are wrong. It just means that if the assumptions you make are true, then those other theories are wrong, so for your game since you are going to treat those assumptions as true, actions work like you are stating.

They aren't assumptions they are premises and those premises are come explicitly from the RAI and RAW. The only assumption is the one required for the valid mode of proof by contradiction to work.

Yes, we have proof that the Attack action can be divided by movement. We also have a statement by JEC seeming to say that untimed bonus actions can be used during any action, making them divisible. We have a prior statement, though, saying that actions cannot be nested within one another unless there is a specific rule allowing it. I asked for clarity, but he hasn't responded. Until then, it seems actions are divisible and you can nest actions within one another provided they are untimed(Misty Step), or specifically work within another action(Two-Weapon Fighting).

I'm only worried about whether movement can be used during an action, not whether bonus actions can.

Given the above, there's no reason to assume that an action that includes movement as a part of it, like Disengage and Dash do, do not also allow for that movement to occur during the action. That would be the reasonable assumption.

You mean besides the explicit rule that says: You can move before or after your action (as opposed to you can move anytime)… yea that rule kind of throws a monkey wrench in it for the move anytime position.
 

Do you believe the rules state that you can only move before or after an action (except for the attack action which the rules give a clear exception for)?

Movement is a discrete element in the ordered list that makes up your turn. Elements in that list can be movement, your action, bonus action, reaction, whatever. Example:

1) Move
2) Attack
3) Move
4) Attack
5) Move
6) Shield Master shove
7) Move

Here's the relevant text from the PHB:

Breaking Up Your Move
You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet.

Moving Between Attacks
If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can make two attacks with the Extra Attack feature and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet, and then attack again.

This strongly implies to me that each section of movement is a discrete element in the ordered list of your turn, just like actions and bonus actions. So, I think the answer to your question is yes, you cannot move concurrently with taking an action -- the movement either comes before or after your action (or other discrete element on your turn). Each element in the list gets resolved in order, one at a time.
 


Movement is a discrete element in the ordered list that makes up your turn. Elements in that list can be movement, your action, bonus action, reaction, whatever. Example:

1) Move
2) Attack
3) Move
4) Attack
5) Move
6) Shield Master shove
7) Move

Here's the relevant text from the PHB:



This strongly implies to me that each section of movement is a discrete element in the ordered list of your turn, just like actions and bonus actions. So, I think the answer to your question is yes, you cannot move concurrently with taking an action -- the movement either comes before or after your action (or other discrete element on your turn). Each element in the list gets resolved in order, one at a time.

So if you believe those 2 things,
1) That you can only move before or after an action and
2) That you can move after taking the disengage action

Then doesn't that mean that the disengage action began on your turn and ended sometime on your turn before it was over? Isn't that the definition of duration? If it's not then what definition are you using?
 

My conclusion only depends on 2 premises. 1) you can move after taking the disengage action (RAI) and 2) you can only move before or after an action (RAW).

The part you are complaining about being an assumption is how arguments by contradiction work. They assume one something (along with other statements that are facts and not assumptions) in order to show the assumption false and thus prove that the opposite of that assumption is true. You literally can't have an argument by contradiction without an assumption, it's part of how that mode of argumentation works. It's a mathematically valid mode of proof as well. Some fascinating things have been proven by contradiction proofs.

I don't have to worry about whether actions are inherently divisible or indivisible, just whether movement can divide them.

You didn't actually prove anything about actions though, since you ignore other theories that would defeat your proof. You are also trying to tie a mathematical proof(which not all schools of mathematical thought even accept) to a non-mathematical situation.

I'm not accepting your proof, because it doesn't actually prove anything here. After all is said and done, there are still other ways to look at the situation that don't require only your two premises, and which don't need to result in your conclusion.

You mean besides the explicit rule that says: You can move before or after your action (as opposed to you can move anytime)… yea that rule kind of throws a monkey wrench in it for the move anytime position.

So this is a Strawman. I did not say anything about moving any time. I said very clearly "an action that includes movement as a part of it,..." That is explicitly not "any time," and since only specific actions include movement, they are specific over the general rule about actions.
 

So if you believe those 2 things,
1) That you can only move before or after an action and
2) That you can move after taking the disengage action

Then doesn't that mean that the disengage action began on your turn and ended sometime on your turn before it was over? Isn't that the definition of duration? If it's not then what definition are you using?

My point is that the "duration of the Disengage action" is irrelevant and has no meaning or value. This is supported by the fact that there is zero language in the PHB about the "duration of an action", because in my opinion it simply does not matter. The only thing that matters is the order of the elements that make up your turn. The Disengage action, like other actions, is a discrete element in the ordered list. You process these elements in order, one at a time. Once you've processed the Disengage element, you have taken the action and any event that has that as a trigger can now be added to the ordered list.

1) Move
2) Disengage
3) Move

The movement element (3) does not provoke OAs. The movement element (1) does provoke OAs. Why do you care how long (2) took? We simply resolve each entry in the list in order, and apply the effects of the entry as needed. So, movement might be moving your miniature on the map. Disengage means applying the temporary "your movement doesn't provoke OAs" buff, similar to the buff you'd get from the Shield spell for example. Any movement that happens after this element is resolved does not provoke an OA, nothing more, nothing less. The "duration" of the Disengage action itself has no relevance to this, in my opinion -- it's simple one of the discrete elements on your turn that gets processed in order.
 

You are also trying to tie a mathematical proof(which not all schools of mathematical thought even accept)

Wait WHAT?????

This is more important than all the other topics. You seriously believe that mathematics exist where proof by contradiction isn't accepted?

Have you ever taken a mathematical logic class? A mathematical proofs class? Do you know what a truth table is? Are you just talking out of your A double S?

Can you prove the irrationality of the square root of 2 without a proof by contradiction? Can you prove that the halting problem is unsolvable without a proof by contradiction?

I'm in absolute shock that you could say something like that
 

My point is that the "duration of the Disengage action" is irrelevant and has no meaning or value. This is supported by the fact that there is zero language in the PHB about the "duration of an action", because in my opinion it simply does not matter. The only thing that matters is the order of the elements that make up your turn. The Disengage action, like other actions, is a discrete element in the ordered list. You process these elements in order, one at a time. Once you've processed the Disengage element, you have taken the action and any event that has that as a trigger can now be added to the ordered list.

1) Move
2) Disengage
3) Move

The movement element (3) does not provoke OAs. The movement element (1) does provoke OAs. Why do you care how long (2) took? We simply resolve each entry in the list in order, and apply the effects of the entry as needed. So, movement might be moving your miniature on the map. Disengage means applying the temporary "your movement doesn't provoke OAs" buff, similar to the buff you'd get from the Shield spell for example. Any movement that happens after this element is resolved does not provoke an OA, nothing more, nothing less. The "duration" of the Disengage action itself has no relevance to this, in my opinion -- it's simple one of the discrete elements on your turn that gets processed in order.

So you don't disagree that I've proven that the disengage action has a duration that is less than the duration of it's effects. You just think that it's a meaningless piece of information to have?
 

Remove ads

Remove ads

Top