Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium. New things: [NEW] Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature...
Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium.

New things:

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figuratively—the type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes, different effects stack if they don’t have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]
You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Player’s Handbook [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? It’s hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes aren’t weapons? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can the rogue’s Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesn’t use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesn’t qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades don’t work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isn’t sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after you’ve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the game’s rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, you’re also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]If the damage from [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. The [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell turns you into dust only if the spell’s damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If you’re a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? Does the druid simply leave beast form? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druid’s normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Using 5-foot squares, does [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]affect a single square? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT](5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]PH[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]MM[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 11) states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]stinking cloud [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
 

And if the attack action is made up of N discrete elements then it must have a duration...

In other words changing your claim to the attack action being made up of N discrete elements logically implies that it has a duration which contradicts your original premise that actions have no duration.

As I've said, your turn is made up of discrete elements in an ordered list. Duration has no relevance. There's an explicit rule that says your Attack action can be split by movement. There are also bonus actions that are triggered by a single attack in the Attack action. Why do you insist on applying a duration to any of this? It simply has no bearing on the order of the elements in your turn.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

As I've said, your turn is made up of discrete elements in an ordered list. Duration has no relevance. There's an explicit rule that says your Attack action can be split by movement. There are also bonus actions that are triggered by a single attack in the Attack action. Why do you insist on applying a duration to any of this? It simply has no bearing on the order of the elements in your turn.

So your dropping your claim about the attack action having no duration and changing it to duration doesn't matter. I wish you would make up your mind. I'm getting tired of fighting against an opinion that's more amoprhpous than an ooze.
 

So your dropping your claim about the attack action having no duration and changing it to duration doesn't matter. I wish you would make up your mind. I'm getting tired of fighting against an opinion that's more amoprhpous than an ooze.

I thought I was quite clear in my previous post. I was objecting to the notion that actions last as long as their effects, as this makes no sense for the Dodge and Disengage actions. I think I've explained in a large amount of detail why I think that actions simply have no implicit duration, or why duration even matters here. Please show me the text in the PHB that talks about action duration, and I'd be happy to discuss further. Otherwise, I'm sticking with my interpretation that your turn is simply made up of a strictly ordered list of discrete elements, as this avoids all problems of action duration, nested actions, concurrent actions, Schrodinger's Shove and so on.

As I said yesterday, I've given up trying to convince all the folks who think you can Shield Master shove before attacking. You're all very clearly set in your ways in respect to that feat. I just think it's completely nonsensical, but we can agree to disagree.
 

I thought I was quite clear in my previous post. I was objecting to the notion that actions last as long as their effects, as this makes no sense for the Dodge and Disengage actions. I think I've explained in a large amount of detail why I think that actions simply have no implicit duration, or why duration even matters here. Please show me the text in the PHB that talks about action duration, and I'd be happy to discuss further. Otherwise, I'm sticking with my interpretation that your turn is simply made up of a strictly ordered list of discrete elements, as this avoids all problems of action duration, nested actions, concurrent actions, Schrodinger's Shove and so on.

Let me make the case to you for why action duration is important. The movement rules in the PHB only allow you to move before or after an action. There is one exception for the attack action. If we can't answer the question of how long certain actions like disengage last then we can't say when we can move again after attempting to take that action. So whether the PHB talks about duration, it's still an important concept when it comes to understanding the rules.

To prove this I want to ask you, when you disengage, can you move again before the end of your turn? If yes, then whether or not you want to admit it, you have a belief about the duration of the disengage action, that belief being it's duration doesn't last till the end of your turn (because you know that if it does then by RAW you wouldn't be able to move after taking the action).

As I said yesterday, I've given up trying to convince all the folks who think you can Shield Master shove before attacking. You're all very clearly set in your ways in respect to that feat. I just think it's completely nonsensical, but we can agree to disagree.

In case you missed the memo, I just recently changed to this position.
 

I thought I was quite clear in my previous post. I was objecting to the notion that actions last as long as their effects, as this makes no sense for the Dodge and Disengage actions. I think I've explained in a large amount of detail why I think that actions simply have no implicit duration, or why duration even matters here. Please show me the text in the PHB that talks about action duration, and I'd be happy to discuss further. Otherwise, I'm sticking with my interpretation that your turn is simply made up of a strictly ordered list of discrete elements, as this avoids all problems of action duration, nested actions, concurrent actions, Schrodinger's Shove and so on.

As I said yesterday, I've given up trying to convince all the folks who think you can Shield Master shove before attacking. You're all very clearly set in your ways in respect to that feat. I just think it's completely nonsensical, but we can agree to disagree.

While the word duration isn't used, Dodge clearly has a duration: 6 seconds. Once you take in on your turn, it lasts until the start of your next turn. Assuming one uses the standard initiative rules (i.e. roll once and repeat), you are "dodging" for the entire 6 seconds that makes up the round. So, hopefully the idea that you are dodging the entire time (whether you are moving during that time or not) does, in fact, make sense. You do not dodge only once. Now, the effects (attacks made against you at disadvantage and Dex saves with advantage) are discrete as those effect occur at the moment the triggering action takes place (the enemy's attack, the spell completing, etc.).

Additionally, while I agree SA made it quite clear you must actually attack (not just declaring, but making an attack roll to hit a target) before employing the bonus action of Shield Master (I don't personally agree with this, but that is my view, not the rules), there is nothing specifying the timing beyond that requirement. Since bonus actions can be taken as soon as their requirements are met, it is a perfectly valid interpretation that a Shield Master character with Extra Attack could attack, shove, and then attack again. Adding movement to the mix, your character could: attack, move, shove, attack, move if speed remains.

If none of this agrees to you, then fine: agree to disagree. :)
 

Let me make the case to you for why action duration is important. The movement rules in the PHB only allow you to move before or after an action. There is one exception for the attack action. If we can't answer the question of how long certain actions like disengage last then we can't say when we can move again after attempting to take that action. So whether the PHB talks about duration, it's still an important concept when it comes to understanding the rules.

To prove this I want to ask you, when you disengage, can you move again before the end of your turn? If yes, then whether or not you want to admit it, you have a belief about the duration of the disengage action, that belief being it's duration doesn't last till the end of your turn (because you know that if it does then by RAW you wouldn't be able to move after taking the action).

As I've said, the rules say you can insert movement into the Attack action. That might give you an ordered list of this for your turn:

1) Move
2) Attack
3) Move
4) Attack
5) Move

Duration of an action has no bearing on the effect of that action. Let's say that when you take the Disengage action, your DM hands you a card that says "your movement doesn't provoke OAs". They take it back at the end of your turn.

1) Move
2) Disengage
3) Move (this does not provoke OAs)

This mirrors what happens when you cast the Shield spell, where the DM hands you a card that says "you get +5 to AC" which they take back at the start of your next turn. Similarly, the DM gives you a card that says "attacks against you have disadvantage" for the Dodge action, which they take back at the start of your next turn.

Duration of the effect is important. Duration of the element that triggered said effect is irrelevant, in my opinion. You process the element, and you move on to process the next element in the list. The only thing that matters is the order.
 

As I've said, the rules say you can insert movement into the Attack action. That might give you an ordered list of this for your turn:

1) Move
2) Attack
3) Move
4) Attack
5) Move

Duration of an action has no bearing on the effect of that action. Let's say that when you take the Disengage action, your DM hands you a card that says "your movement doesn't provoke OAs". They take it back at the end of your turn.

1) Move
2) Disengage
3) Move (this does not provoke OAs)

This mirrors what happens when you cast the Shield spell, where the DM hands you a card that says "you get +5 to AC" which they take back at the start of your next turn. Similarly, the DM gives you a card that says "attacks against you have disadvantage" for the Dodge action, which they take back at the start of your next turn.

Duration of the effect is important. Duration of the element that triggered said effect is irrelevant, in my opinion. You process the element, and you move on to process the next element in the list. The only thing that matters is the order.

Obviously for disengage the duration of the effect it provides lasts until the end of your turn. My question isn't about the effect it provides. My question is can you move after taking the disengage action. If you answer yes then you believe as I do that the disengage action doesn't last until the end of your turn (because you know that if it did then you wouldn't be able to move until after that turn was over).
 

Obviously for disengage the duration of the effect it provides lasts until the end of your turn. My question isn't about the effect it provides. My question is can you move after taking the disengage action. If you answer yes then you believe as I do that the disengage action doesn't last until the end of your turn (because you know that if it did then you wouldn't be able to move until after that turn was over).

I absolutely agree with you, because the Disengage action in and of itself has no concept of duration. The effect of that action lasts until the end of your turn, which means any movement elements in the ordered list that is your turn after the Disengage element do not provoke OAs.
 

I absolutely agree with you, because the Disengage action in and of itself has no concept of duration. The effect of that action lasts until the end of your turn, which means any movement elements in the ordered list that is your turn after the Disengage element do not provoke OAs.

How about answering my question. Can you move after taking the disengage action?
 

How about answering my question. Can you move after taking the disengage action?

I answered this 2 posts ago.

1) Move
2) Disengage
3) Move (this does not provoke OAs)

Yes, you can move after you Disengage. The effect of that action lasts for the duration, which in this case is the end of your turn.
 

Remove ads

Remove ads

Top