Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium. New things: [NEW] Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature...
Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium.

New things:

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figuratively—the type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes, different effects stack if they don’t have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]
You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Player’s Handbook [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? It’s hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes aren’t weapons? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can the rogue’s Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesn’t use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesn’t qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades don’t work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isn’t sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after you’ve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the game’s rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, you’re also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]If the damage from [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. The [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell turns you into dust only if the spell’s damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If you’re a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? Does the druid simply leave beast form? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druid’s normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Using 5-foot squares, does [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]affect a single square? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT](5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]PH[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]MM[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 11) states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]stinking cloud [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
 

Per my post above, my interpretation says that actions don't have a duration.

No duration = instantaneous so we are in agreement there.

I think my building block analogy is the best way to describe the point I've been trying to make this whole time. If you assemble your turn as a sequence of basic building blocks, then there is never a question about "what's the duration of action X" -- a given action is just a discrete event in the sequence, and the sequence gets resolved in order from start to finish.

The issue is the attack action with extra attack. The attack action with extra attack is not a discrete event in the sequence you are referencing. It would be 2 discrete events, attack #1 and then attack #2. So then which of these discrete events do you assign the attack action to?

Edit: To be clear, I was trying to argue against the idea that actions last as long as their effects, because this doesn't make sense to me based on the Disengage and Dodge actions. There are more than two options though, and so I've given up advocating that since actions cannot last as long as their effects the only explanation must be that actions are instantaneous -- it makes more sense to me that actions simply have no duration at all, and your turn is built up of discrete strictly-ordered events.

#1 instantaneous = no duration.

#2 I agree that your turn can to some degree be described as being made up of a sequence of in gameworld events. Consider the following sequence: You move, you attack, you move again, you attack, you move again, you bonus action shove and then you move again. Each of those activities is a discrete event. If an action is a discrete event in the sequence then which discrete event described above coorelates to the attack action?

#3 the events on your turn can be strictly ordered and actions still being instantaneous. Consider the discrete event sequence: Move, attack action, shield master bonus action, attack #1, move, attack #2, move again.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm curious about what makes you think the attack action is instantaneous while disengage is not. As [MENTION=6799649]Arial Black[/MENTION] mentioned, you can attack, move around a bunch and then attack again. How the heck do you construe that as instantaneous?

For myself, I think the timing is built into each action. I think the Attack action lasts from the instant you take the first swing to the moment you finish damage or miss on your last one, plus any movement in between attacks. I think disengage lasts the rest of your turn or the rest of your movement, whichever comes first. And so on.

Now I know that the game doesn't explicitly say the above, but neither does it say that actions are instantaneous. My opinion is that a more common and organic reading of these actions lends itself to turns having a duration, with built in exceptions to account for the length they last. It takes a less intuitive reading to come up with them lasting only an instant, but the effects lasting the entire round, where the effects are the action you took, yet it's not the action.

This is very much a ruling situation, though, since the rules don't say either way.
 

For myself, I think the timing is built into each action. I think the Attack action lasts from the instant you take the first swing to the moment you finish damage or miss on your last one, plus any movement in between attacks. I think disengage lasts the rest of your turn or the rest of your movement, whichever comes first. And so on.

I know you think that. What I don't understand is that I've presented proof that the disengage action cannot last till the end of your turn or till your movement ends and you still think that. What about the proof doesn't convince you?

Now I know that the game doesn't explicitly say the above, but neither does it say that actions are instantaneous. My opinion is that a more common and organic reading of these actions lends itself to turns having a duration, with built in exceptions to account for the length they last. It takes a less intuitive reading to come up with them lasting only an instant, but the effects lasting the entire round, where the effects are the action you took, yet it's not the action.

When presented with a well reasoned and logical argument that shows at least 1 action can't last it's duration then any common or organic reading of the rules which result in that action lasting it's duration are also logically discarded. At that point it stops being about intuition or what you feel is the best reading and what you've proven the best and most coherent interpretation cannot be.

This is very much a ruling situation, though, since the rules don't say either way.

There's parts of this discussion that are definitely rulings. However, when presented with proof that an interpretation has unintended and silly consequences (like disengage action does with the interpretation that it lasts until the end of your turn) then it's reasonable to abandon that interpretation.

So going back to the first question I asked, what is it about the proof I've offered about the disengage action that you don't find compelling?
 




I know you think that. What I don't understand is that I've presented proof that the disengage action cannot last till the end of your turn or till your movement ends and you still think that. What about the proof doesn't convince you?

When presented with a well reasoned and logical argument that shows at least 1 action can't last it's duration then any common or organic reading of the rules which result in that action lasting it's duration are also logically discarded. At that point it stops being about intuition or what you feel is the best reading and what you've proven the best and most coherent interpretation cannot be.

Your "proof" was based on a False Dichotomy. I presented another way to read the rules other than the two you proposed. You then dismissed it, saying that the actions don't explicitly say what they imply. Sure. That's true. It's also true that they don't say that they are instantaneous. they also do not say that you cannot split an action, or that you cannot move in the middle of an action. Those are assumptions you are making.

You're pretty free with being okay with assumptions when they support you, but apparently you're the only one that can do that sort of thing.

There's parts of this discussion that are definitely rulings. However, when presented with proof that an interpretation has unintended and silly consequences (like disengage action does with the interpretation that it lasts until the end of your turn) then it's reasonable to abandon that interpretation.

But again, it only has that silly an unintended consequence if you don't accept the implied ability to move during the actions that have duration and involve movement.

So going back to the first question I asked, what is it about the proof I've offered about the disengage action that you don't find compelling?

It ignored other options. I don't know that you are wrong, but as you are ignoring other options and also using some assumptions in your "proof," I can't say that you are right, either. Your proof isn't as iron clad as you think it is.
 

While that's certainly true, they are "the rules" of D&D. No tweet nor "official" Advice from Crawford or anyone else constitutes a rule, and the only way the rules are modified is by published errata. There are those who make a reasonable effort to play "by the rules" or to follow the "rules as written," and for them the published rules are, in fact, binding: they have elected to be bound by them. There is therefore an important distinction to be made between the rules and the Advice, "official" or otherwise.
That important distinction however is entirely in the eye of the beholder. So, same as someone can have "elected to be bound" by the PHB and some or all or none of its optional rules - so someone can have "elected to be bound" by those books and/or the designated official errata and/or the designated other official source - sage advice compendium.

So, you know, dismissing one group position because it chooses to be bound by a different set of the non-binding official content than you do seems rather much like saying "I like it this way" rather than an argument about what the official way to do it is or is not in any objective sense doesnt it?
 

That important distinction however is entirely in the eye of the beholder. So, same as someone can have "elected to be bound" by the PHB and some or all or none of its optional rules - so someone can have "elected to be bound" by those books and/or the designated official errata and/or the designated other official source - sage advice compendium.

So, you know, dismissing one group position because it chooses to be bound by a different set of the non-binding official content than you do seems rather much like saying "I like it this way" rather than an argument about what the official way to do it is or is not in any objective sense doesnt it?

Well, I make use of house rules, so it isn't really my way we're talking about. This discussion, however, has been focussed on interpreting the "rules as written" in the context of the Shield Master feat, so it is important to note that the Sage Advice isn't rules, it is only advised rulings. Rulings vs. rules is a distinction worth making.

As an example, a dungeon master running a game at an Adventurer's League event is directed to use "the rules as presented by the official materials (PHB, DMG, MM, etc.)," but "Whether or not any given Dungeon Master chooses to utilize Sage Advice as a resource for rules adjudication in D&D Adventurers League play is at the discretion of each individual DM."

If you want to know how I personally run my game we can get into that, but I've been operating on the assumption that no one really gives a crap.
 

Your "proof" was based on a False Dichotomy. I presented another way to read the rules other than the two you proposed. You then dismissed it, saying that the actions don't explicitly say what they imply. Sure. That's true. It's also true that they don't say that they are instantaneous. they also do not say that you cannot split an action, or that you cannot move in the middle of an action. Those are assumptions you are making.

You're pretty free with being okay with assumptions when they support you, but apparently you're the only one that can do that sort of thing.



But again, it only has that silly an unintended consequence if you don't accept the implied ability to move during the actions that have duration and involve movement.



It ignored other options. I don't know that you are wrong, but as you are ignoring other options and also using some assumptions in your "proof," I can't say that you are right, either. Your proof isn't as iron clad as you think it is.

The Disengage action doesn't imply anything. It's explicit. "If you move you don't provoke OA's. There is no guarantee in that action that you are able to move after taking it, just that if you do move then you don't provoke OA's. My logical argument relies on the presumption/RAI that after taking the disengage action you should be able to move and not provoke OA's. I think we all agree there.

I don't think you understand how arguments by contradiction work. You start with premises and show that those premises lead to a contradiction.

In this case I have 3 premises
1) You should be able to move after taking the disengage action (the RAI that we all know)
2) You can only move before or after an action except with an explicit exception (the RAW in the PHB)
3) Actions are indivisible (your interpretation)

It's obvious those premises lead to a contradiction. You agree there I'm sure. However, what you are trying to say is that premise #2 is wrong because premise #1. The issue with that is that premise #1 only has to do with the intentions/implications and premise #2 only has to do with what is explicitly written. #2 cannot be altered by intentions/implications/RAI because the premise itself is independent of those things. That's why I find it baffling that you keep presenting that as evidence that the argument I'm presenting isn't true.
 

Remove ads

Remove ads

Top