Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium. New things: [NEW] Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature...
Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium.

New things:

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figuratively—the type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes, different effects stack if they don’t have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]
You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Player’s Handbook [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? It’s hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes aren’t weapons? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can the rogue’s Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesn’t use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesn’t qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades don’t work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isn’t sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after you’ve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the game’s rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, you’re also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]If the damage from [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. The [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell turns you into dust only if the spell’s damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If you’re a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? Does the druid simply leave beast form? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druid’s normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Using 5-foot squares, does [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]affect a single square? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT](5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]PH[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]MM[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 11) states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]stinking cloud [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
 

And the Attack action can equally be read as the DM giving you a token that says "you may execute all your allowed weapon attacks between now and the end of your turn"!

The fallacy you're making is Special Pleading. Actions either are ALL 'instantaneous, with ongoing effects', OR they ALL 'have a duration'. Saying that some work one way and some work another, without written rules, is Special Pleading!



NONE of them have language that tell you whether the Action itself lasts for its duration or is instantaneous with ongoing effects!

The rules are silent on this issue. This is indicative that 'when an Action ends', as opposed to 'when the effects of an Action ends', was not considered to matter as far as the rules are concerned. This leads to the conclusion that 'Actions are indivisible' was NEVER part of the design when written, and has only become a thing post hoc in order for JC to justify his change of heart.

Because, if it did matter, they would have made it an actual rule!

The Attack action says: "With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack."

The Dodge action says: "Until the start of your next turn, any attack roll made against you has disadvantage if you can see the attacker, and you make Dexterity saving throws with advantage."

One of these actions is an instantaneous event, the other action has a lasting effect. The Attack action is the act of making a weapon attack. The Dodge action provides a temporary effect that lasts until the start of your next turn. The building blocks you assemble your turn out of have the action as a discrete event in both cases, but one explicitly grants a lasting effect and one does not.

I'll just stop at this point, as there doesn't seem to be much point in continuing to try and explain how the combat system works in a way that is consistent with official rulings on the matter.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

... there doesn't seem to be much point in continuing to try and explain how the combat system works in a way that is consistent with official rulings on the matter.

It may be helpful for you to keep in mind that the "official rulings" are only "official" in the sense that they supersede the now "unofficial" advice given on twitter. Nothing about the Sage Advice Compendium is intended to be, or could ever be, binding upon DMs. It remains Advice, not binding precedent.

Also, anyone with whom you do not completely agree in this thread has already evaluated Jeremy Crawford's stated opinion on this matter (what you're calling the "official ruling") and found it unpersuasive. It is unlikely that any argumentum ad verecundiam will accrue to your advantage.
 

The Attack action says: "With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack."

The Dodge action says: "Until the start of your next turn, any attack roll made against you has disadvantage if you can see the attacker, and you make Dexterity saving throws with advantage."

One of these actions is an instantaneous event, the other action has a lasting effect.

For a single weapon attack, I agree. But what about when you have Extra Attack which the rules say can be interspersed with movement? After all, no-one doubts that the rules allow us to attack orc A in the kitchen, then move 30 feet into the dining room and attack orc B.

Are you really saying that those two separate attacks are one single instantaneous event?

The Attack action is the act of making a weapon attack. The Dodge action provides a temporary effect that lasts until the start of your next turn. The building blocks you assemble your turn out of have the action as a discrete event in both cases, but one explicitly grants a lasting effect and one does not.

In the fiction, you dodge incoming attacks at the moments those attacks come in, and you make those attacks at the moments you make them. How can you view one as 'ongoing' and the other as 'instantaneous' in the case of Extra Attack?
 

For a single weapon attack, I agree. But what about when you have Extra Attack which the rules say can be interspersed with movement? After all, no-one doubts that the rules allow us to attack orc A in the kitchen, then move 30 feet into the dining room and attack orc B.

Are you really saying that those two separate attacks are one single instantaneous event?



In the fiction, you dodge incoming attacks at the moments those attacks come in, and you make those attacks at the moments you make them. How can you view one as 'ongoing' and the other as 'instantaneous' in the case of Extra Attack?

Per my previous post, my interpretation of all of this is that you assemble your turn with basic building blocks. These are arranged sequentially. There is text in the PHB that says you can split your movement with an action. There is text in the PHB that says you can insert movement between attacks granted from Extra Attack and the like. With this interpretation, there is no concept of "action duration". There is no concept of "concurrent actions", or deferring the decision about whether a shove was an action or a bonus action, depending on what else happens on your turn.

There is a rule that says you can split your Attack action into effectively N blocks with movement blocks in between. Resolving triggers is easy: you can insert the triggered block any time after the triggering block. If the trigger is a single attack (TWF), then the bonus action block must come after that first attack but can come before other attacks granted by Extra Attack. If the trigger is the Attack action, then the bonus action must come after all the attacks. If you don't move, then your Attack action is still a single block in the timeline.

You might think of these blocks as Scrabble tiles or cards or tokens or whatever, and your turn is you basically laying these down one by one in order. The DM or other players can also play their tiles/cards/tokens via reactions, which may alter what can happen on the rest of your turn. Thus, if you intend to take the Attack action but get incapacitated, the Attack tile/card/token/block never gets played and your turn ends. This trivially solves the question of whether you could play a tile/card/token/block that is triggered by the Attack action, specifically you cannot until that tile/card/token/block has actually been played.

This is the most logical interpretation of the rules for me, given the fact that 5E is a turn-based game. I'm clearly not going to convince any of you otherwise, so I'll just stop now.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

It may be helpful for you to keep in mind that the "official rulings" are only "official" in the sense that they supersede the now "unofficial" advice given on twitter. Nothing about the Sage Advice Compendium is intended to be, or could ever be, binding upon DMs. It remains Advice, not binding precedent.

Also, anyone with whom you do not completely agree in this thread has already evaluated Jeremy Crawford's stated opinion on this matter (what you're calling the "official ruling") and found it unpersuasive. It is unlikely that any argumentum ad verecundiam will accrue to your advantage.
It may be helpful for you to keep in mind that the Rules in the PHB, DMG etc are only "official" in the sense that they are in the rulebooks, to be used or not as you wish within your group. Nothing about the PHB, DMG etc is intended to be, or could ever be, binding upon DMs.
 

It may be helpful for you to keep in mind that the Rules in the PHB, DMG etc are only "official" in the sense that they are in the rulebooks, to be used or not as you wish within your group. Nothing about the PHB, DMG etc is intended to be, or could ever be, binding upon DMs.

While that's certainly true, they are "the rules" of D&D. No tweet nor "official" Advice from Crawford or anyone else constitutes a rule, and the only way the rules are modified is by published errata. There are those who make a reasonable effort to play "by the rules" or to follow the "rules as written," and for them the published rules are, in fact, binding: they have elected to be bound by them. There is therefore an important distinction to be made between the rules and the Advice, "official" or otherwise.
 

Per my previous post, my interpretation of all of this is that you assemble your turn with basic building blocks. These are arranged sequentially. There is text in the PHB that says you can split your movement with an action. There is text in the PHB that says you can insert movement between attacks granted from Extra Attack and the like. With this interpretation, there is no concept of "action duration". There is no concept of "concurrent actions", or deferring the decision about whether a shove was an action or a bonus action, depending on what else happens on your turn.

There is a rule that says you can split your Attack action into effectively N blocks with movement blocks in between. Resolving triggers is easy: you can insert the triggered block any time after the triggering block. If the trigger is a single attack (TWF), then the bonus action block must come after that first attack but can come before other attacks granted by Extra Attack. If the trigger is the Attack action, then the bonus action must come after all the attacks. If you don't move, then your Attack action is still a single block in the timeline.

You might think of these blocks as Scrabble tiles or cards or tokens or whatever, and your turn is you basically laying these down one by one in order. The DM or other players can also play their tiles/cards/tokens via reactions, which may alter what can happen on the rest of your turn. Thus, if you intend to take the Attack action but get incapacitated, the Attack tile/card/token/block never gets played and your turn ends. This trivially solves the question of whether you could play a tile/card/token/block that is triggered by the Attack action, specifically you cannot until that tile/card/token/block has actually been played.

This is the most logical interpretation of the rules for me, given the fact that 5E is a turn-based game. I'm clearly not going to convince any of you otherwise, so I'll just stop now.

I'm curious about what makes you think the attack action is instantaneous while disengage is not. As [MENTION=6799649]Arial Black[/MENTION] mentioned, you can attack, move around a bunch and then attack again. How the heck do you construe that as instantaneous?
 

I'm curious about what makes you think the attack action is instantaneous while disengage is not. As @Arial Black mentioned, you can attack, move around a bunch and then attack again. How the heck do you construe that as instantaneous?

Per my post above, my interpretation says that actions don't have a duration. I think my building block analogy is the best way to describe the point I've been trying to make this whole time. If you assemble your turn as a sequence of basic building blocks, then there is never a question about "what's the duration of action X" -- a given action is just a discrete event in the sequence, and the sequence gets resolved in order from start to finish.

Edit: To be clear, I was trying to argue against the idea that actions last as long as their effects, because this doesn't make sense to me based on the Disengage and Dodge actions. There are more than two options though, and so I've given up advocating that since actions cannot last as long as their effects the only explanation must be that actions are instantaneous -- it makes more sense to me that actions simply have no duration at all, and your turn is built up of discrete strictly-ordered events.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

First, I said it was a "nearly pointless feature" [of the feat], not that the feat itself was pointless without this. That is an important distinction. (bold added for emphasis)

I find all those benefits I listed far more than "nearly useless". There are feats I would describe as nearly useless but shield master isn't one no matter how one rules it works.

As I said, unless you have allies who can take advantage of the knock down you caused, the opponent can stand up on their turn before you benefit from the knock down.

Even if you have no allies that can take advantage of the knock down it's still useful because it greatly reduces the amount of space the prone target can move and attack. That's useful in keeping enemies off your squishier party members.

Now, if you want to keep allowing OA at disadvantage against you, I suppose that would be a way to deny them any real attack. There is nothing wrong with that and I hadn't thought of it, so it is more useful when used defensively.

You made the claim it offered you no benefit in a 1v1 fight. The scenario I laid out actually shows it provides a great 1v1 benefit. It is a defensive benefit but you didn't actually stipulate offensive or defensive in your post on the matter.

However, it offers you no benefit offensively otherwise and if you look at the rest of my post, it demonstrates a perfectly acceptable way to use it where it at least can be used offensively by you without the need for having an ally there to hit the target.

#1 you never said anything about the benefit needing to be offensive.

So, thanks for the idea on how to use it defensively at least, that does give it some more merit even as currently ruled. :)

Your welcome
 

Except Dave doesn't move to engage. He gets up and readies his attack for when Stan moves into his reach. Now, when Stan moves to engage Dave again, Dave gets his attacks before Stan. Also, you can at best assume a 50-50 chance for the knock down. As well, you're ignoring any feat Dave might have that would assist him, perhaps Sentinel, so if he does his with the OA, Stan isn't moving any more. At any rate, as I expressed above, this is a useful "maneuvering" way to employ Shield Master, which I thanked FrogReaver for.

I want to talk about the above scenarios. I'm not analyzing PVP. It's a very pointless thing to do IMO. Chances are any enemy you encounter doesn't have the sentinel feat or any other feat so bringing that up is pointless IMO.

The more interesting discussion is how the fighter with shield master can actively counter your ready action. He simply moves just out of your reach and readies his own attack in response. Now it's essentially a stalemate because whoever moves into the readied attack first is at a significant disadvantage.

Now consider if you are a shield master fighter fighting against another equal opponent and due to the nature of dice rolls after 2 turns you are at a significant disadvantage. As a shield master you have a way to easily force a stalemate and so to prevent that from happening your opponent has to sacrifice some of his advantage which helps make the fight more winnable for you. If the dice favor you after the first few turns the you just continue fighting it out as you have the advantage at that point. That's the more nuanced version of what's going to happen and the actual advantages the feat brings against smart enemies. Of course against dumber enemies you may easily rope them into a nearly endless cycle of almost never getting to actually attack you.
 

Remove ads

Remove ads

Top