Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium. New things: [NEW] Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature...
Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium.

New things:

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figuratively—the type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes, different effects stack if they don’t have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]
You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Player’s Handbook [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? It’s hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes aren’t weapons? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can the rogue’s Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesn’t use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesn’t qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades don’t work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isn’t sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after you’ve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the game’s rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, you’re also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]If the damage from [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. The [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell turns you into dust only if the spell’s damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If you’re a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? Does the druid simply leave beast form? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druid’s normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Using 5-foot squares, does [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]affect a single square? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT](5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]PH[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]MM[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 11) states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]stinking cloud [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
 

I think the word Now does a nice job of differentiating those ideas. You declare the action NOW. Or you declare the action for later. In your concept the action must be declared now. So then even if the attack action is a discrete sequential event separate from the attacks it grants then it must immediately precede them and doing anything else between the attack action and the attacks would mean that you didn't actually follow through with your declaration and so you didn't actually take the attack action.

I might could get behind that concept. Actions are discrete events that must be declared immediately as you are using them. Then their effects immediately follow. This interpretation would allow any bonus action to be used inbetween extra attacks. It would allow movement to be used after taking the disengage action. *It would allow the shield master shove attack to be used after the first attack but not before it.

I agree with everything here except the final sentence. The trigger for Shield Master’s bonus action is the Attack action, not part of the Attack action. If you split the Attack action and perform other legal activities between attacks such as movement, you must still complete the Attack action before you can do something that is triggered by it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

My proposition allows for actions to be be divisible by movement.

"...using some of your speed before and after your action." does not exclude movement during the action. It just points out permissions for those other two situations. So that rule does not show that actions are not divisible by movement.

Moving between attacks is not intuitive. Many will think you can, and many will think you can't, so it needed a rule to make clear that the game does allow it for sure in that situation. The existence this rule does not mean that this is the only time you may move in the middle of an action, so it is not a rule that shows that actions are not divisible by movement.

Okay, but the existence of the rule is strong evidence that you cannot move during an action. I prefer not to rely an interpretation that makes me disregard strong evidence provided by the rules.

The Dash action adds to movement, so it makes crystal clear sense that you should be able to move during that action, so there was no need to create an extra rule for it like they did with Attack, and which is not excluded by "...using some of your speed before and after your action."

RAI you are absolutely correct, RAW is a different story though. The contradiction I keep pointing to is a contradiction about what your interpretation forces upon RAW compared to what we all know the RAI is.

Now, I've argued before, and still believe, that just because something is not excluded by the rules, does not automatically make it included in the rules. However, the natural reading Dash and other movement actions, as well as the apparent reasoning behind why Attack is called out separately, and the fact that actions being divisible by movement is not excluded, strongly indicates to me that actions are divisible, and movement is one of those things that many actions are divisible by.

Your argument is:
1. The disengage action gives you a benefit if you move (raw)
2. The action lasts till the end of your turn (your interpretation)
3. The RAI is that you can get a benefit to your movement (rai)
4. Conclusion Therefore RAW must be that the disengage action is divisible by movement.

You do realize that what you are saying is only true if the action lasts till the end of your turn. I've offered proof that it cannot. So your argument here doesn't have any bearing on mine unless you can show the disengage action must last till the end of the turn. If you can't do that then your argument doesn't invalidate my proof. In fact, my proof would invalidate your argument, because my conclusion would result in one of your premises being incorrect. By all means, provide an argument that one of my premises is incorrect.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

I agree with everything here except the final sentence. The trigger for Shield Master’s bonus action is the Attack action, not part of the Attack action. If you split the Attack action and perform other legal activities between attacks such as movement, you must still complete the Attack action before you can do something that is triggered by it.

If the attack action is a discrete sequential event then it must occur somewhere within our sequence. Is there anywhere in the chain of discrete sequential events that the attack action can be placed such that you must take the shield master shove after both your discrete sequential attacks? I don't think that's possible.

Your position is actually that the attack action isn't a discrete sequential event but rather that it is composed of discrete sequential events. My argument is that it's better to consider the attack action and all other actions as discrete sequential events that are declared NOW.
 

A declaration in the common usage in D&D, how JC is using it, and how we are using it here, is a statement of future intent.

Player: "DM, on my turn I am going to move 5 feet, then cast misty step, then use my Attack action, then move 25 feet." That would be declaring what your action will be.

When you are informing the DM of what you are doing at this moment, it's a statement of action. Yes, it's technically a declaration, but it is not the kind of declaration that we are discussing. At no time, though, whether using the kind of declaration everyone else is talking about, or the kind of declaration you using on this technicality, is the declaration valid within the game rules. Being entirely informal, it has no mechanical game validity whatsoever. Nothing can trigger off of a declaration of any kind. Only when you are actually engaging the action does anything begin to trigger off of it.

It's the kind of declaration I've been discussing. I've made that abundantly clear. Why do you keep talking to me about this other type of declaration when it's not what I'm talking about?
 

Your argument is:
1. The disengage action gives you a benefit if you move (raw)
2. The action lasts till the end of your turn (your interpretation)
3. The RAI is that you can get a benefit to your movement (rai)
4. Conclusion Therefore RAW must be that the disengage action is divisible by movement.

You do realize that what you are saying is only true if the action lasts till the end of your turn. I've offered proof that it cannot. So your argument here doesn't have any bearing on mine unless you can show the disengage action must last till the end of the turn. If you can't do that then your argument doesn't invalidate my proof. In fact, my proof would invalidate your argument, because my conclusion would result in one of your premises being incorrect.

First, it doesn't need to last until the end of the turn. It only needs to last until the end of movement, which is a different. Second, on #2, I've already shown how Attack and Cast a Spell are both non-instant actions. They do in fact have a duration. Others seem to as well.

"When you take the Hide action, you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check in an attempt to hide, following the rules in chapter 7 for hiding." This is clearly not an instant effect. You don't just take the hide action and then the effect is X. It says that when you take the hide action, you make the dex check in the attempt to hide. It takes time to get behind something to hide as you don't just instantly vanish behind an object. Help is an aid to the action of another, including Attacking which we know takes time. To help with an attack, you have to feint or act in some other credible manner with your weapon to make the enemy believe you are attacking and give your ally advantage. That would take time similar to the Attack action.

I don't see why we should just assume that Dash, Disengage and Doge are somehow instantaneous when the other actions are not. 1 action is a length of time in combat per RAW, so it would seem to me that the actions would all also have a 1 action length of time associated with them. Unless you can show where 1 action has a length of time here, but a time of instant there.
 

It's the kind of declaration I've been discussing. I've made that abundantly clear. Why do you keep talking to me about this other type of declaration when it's not what I'm talking about?

Okay, but what you are talking about has no mechanical game validity at all. No declaration does. A declaration of any sort cannot trigger any abilities.
 

First, it doesn't need to last until the end of the turn. It only needs to last until the end of movement, which is a different.

For precision that's fine but it's uncessarily wordy and not of much importance to this discussion. All I would have had to do was add the caveat "as long as you still have movement" and there would be no objection from you. So let's not get distracted by this as there are actual important points to discuss.

Second, on #2, I've already shown how Attack and Cast a Spell are both non-instant actions. They do in fact have a duration. Others seem to as well.

Well, you got half way there. There's a notion that the action happens and then it's effects. You haven't offered anything to show that notion is incorrect. As such the cast a spell action may occur and then the casting of the spell may occur. I'm not saying that's the case just that such a possibility hasn't been ruled out.

"When you take the Hide action, you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check in an attempt to hide, following the rules in chapter 7 for hiding." This is clearly not an instant effect. You don't just take the hide action and then the effect is X. It says that when you take the hide action, you make the dex check in the attempt to hide. It takes time to get behind something to hide as you don't just instantly vanish behind an object. Help is an aid to the action of another, including Attacking which we know takes time. To help with an attack, you have to feint or act in some other credible manner with your weapon to make the enemy believe you are attacking and give your ally advantage. That would take time similar to the Attack action.

When is not an indicator that an action and it's effects last together in tandem. Otherwise the shield master shove that says "when you take the attack action", would definitely allow you to shove between the attacks. In fact it wouldn't allow you to shove any other time...

I don't see why we should just assume that Dash, Disengage and Doge are somehow instantaneous when the other actions are not. 1 action is a length of time in combat per RAW, so it would seem to me that the actions would all also have a 1 action length of time associated with them. Unless you can show where 1 action has a length of time here, but a time of instant there.

Because RAI fails to work by RAW when you interpret them as lasting the effect duration. It all comes back to my proof. Which isn't a proof of instantaneousness, it's a proof that actions and their effects have different durations. That premise then leads to the belief that the disengage action is instantaneous but it's a separate conclusion from what I prove.
 

Okay, but what you are talking about has no mechanical game validity at all. No declaration does. A declaration of any sort cannot trigger any abilities.

Of course it's mechanically valid to the game. Try to play the game without declaring the disengage action and see how far you get.
 

If the attack action is a discrete sequential event then it must occur somewhere within our sequence. Is there anywhere in the chain of discrete sequential events that the attack action can be placed such that you must take the shield master shove after both your discrete sequential attacks? I don't think that's possible.

Your position is actually that the attack action isn't a discrete sequential event but rather that it is composed of discrete sequential events. My argument is that it's better to consider the attack action and all other actions as discrete sequential events that are declared NOW.

Why is it not possible?

1) Move
2) Attack (1/2)
3) Move
4) Attack (2/2)
5) Move
6) Shield Master shove

You can place the shove anywhere after 4, because that's the point where your Attack action is complete. The Attack action is unique in that there are rules exceptions that allow the action to be broken into smaller pieces, with things like movement in between. Those pieces must all still be processed before the action can trigger something else like Shield Master's shove. I'm not sure why the concept of "are you done attacking or not" is that hard to figure out? If you are still making attacks from the Attack action, you haven't finished the Attack action yet.
 

Why is it not possible?

1) Move
2) Attack (1/2)
3) Move
4) Attack (2/2)
5) Move
6) Shield Master shove

You can place the shove anywhere after 4, because that's the point where your Attack action is complete. The Attack action is unique in that there are rules exceptions that allow the action to be broken into smaller pieces, with things like movement in between. Those pieces must all still be processed before the action can trigger something else like Shield Master's shove. I'm not sure why the concept of "are you done attacking or not" is that hard to figure out? If you are still making attacks from the Attack action, you haven't finished the Attack action yet.

Because for the bonus action for Shield Master their is no specified timing, only the condition that you take the attack action. My interpretation is you can shove anytime after 2 since you have used your attack action. Flurry of blows is a different example because it specifies immediately after you take the attack action. Does that mean it has to be complete if you have Extra Attack? Maybe, maybe not, that is up to the table's interpretation.
 

Remove ads

Remove ads

Top