One 5-foot step per round, what about the Hasted partial action

Do movement options that are limited "per turn" apply over the whole turn, or should they be interpreted to be on a per-action basis?

Where specifically does it say a 5-foot step is limited "per turn"?

You are correct movement options that are limited by turn apply over the whole turn.
I cannot Make a standard move, and then take a partial attack action with a 5-foot step. This would break the rule of moving and taking a 5-foot step in the same round. This I am not arguing.

But, by definition, a 5-Foot Step “does not count as a move in combat”; therefore you have not moved when it is taken. Thus allowing a second 5-Foot Step with your partial. Ex: A 5-Foot Step, then a full-attack action, then for my partial, a 5-foot step and a single-attack action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Beerf said:
Do movement options that are limited "per turn" apply over the whole turn, or should they be interpreted to be on a per-action basis?

Where specifically does it say a 5-foot step is limited "per turn"?

You are correct movement options that are limited by turn apply over the whole turn.
I cannot Make a standard move, and then take a partial attack action with a 5-foot step. This would break the rule of moving and taking a 5-foot step in the same round. This I am not arguing.

But, by definition, a 5-Foot Step “does not count as a move in combat”; therefore you have not moved when it is taken. Thus allowing a second 5-Foot Step with your partial. Ex: A 5-Foot Step, then a full-attack action, then for my partial, a 5-foot step and a single-attack action.


This has already been covered in my previous post.
 

Caliban said:
A 5' step is movement, it's just not a Move action.
You can only make a 5' step if your entire move (not "move action" )for the round is 5'. .
Please tell me were this is written I have not been able to find it.:confused:



Also again the definition says "A small position adjustment that does not count as a move in combat."
This tells me that it does not count as a move.
 

Page 121, PHB, right side second paragraph under Move-equivalent actions:

"If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move for one or more move equivalent actions), you can take one five foot step either before, during, or after the action."

If you have already taken this 5' step during your normal action, obviously you have moved actual distance, and thus may not 5' step during the haste partial action. Simple as that.

-The Souljourner
 
Last edited:


Actually Beerf have a point.

The Souljourner said:
Page 121, PHB, right side second paragraph under Move-equivalent actions:

"If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move for one or more move equivalent actions), you can take one five foot step either before, during, or after the action."

If you have already taken this 5' step during your normal action, obviously you have moved actual distance, and thus may not 5' step during the haste partial action. Simple as that.

-The Souljourner

On page 121 it say before, during or after the action. You can have more than one action in a round. Yes. I did read your post. But is 5 foot an actual move or just a part of your normal action. Hmm... [Added: Is a step a move?]


Originally posted by Zhure
Also, page 117, right side bullet note... "If your entire move for the entire round..."


And on page 117 it just say that you don't suffer attacks of opp.



Just feeding the fire. :D
 
Last edited:


Bonedagger said:

And on page 117 it just say that you don't suffer attacks of opp.

"If your entire move for the round is 5 feet (a 5-foot step), enemies do not get attacks of opportunity for you moving."

Thus your entire move FOR THE ROUND. If you take another five foot move it isn't a 5-foot step. It doesn't say "per action."
 

Zhure said:
It doesn't say "per action."

That was a response to that on page 121.

On page 117 it ONLY say that if you make more than one 5-foot steep in that round you will suffer attacks of opportunity. It say nothing about that you can only make one 5-foot steep per round.

Zhure said:
If you take another five foot move it isn't a 5-foot step.

No. Then it is two 5-foot steeps. You will have moved 10 feet and therefore suffer AoO.


One page 121 it say that if you (Eksample) swap your move for one or more move-equivalent actions (notice the "s") and don't move actual distance you can in a action make a 5-foot steep.

How can you move an unactual distance? Is a 5-foot steep not an actual distance?

[Edit: A typo]
 
Last edited:

Bonedagger said:
One page 121 it say that if you (Eksample) swap your move for one or more move-equivalent actions (notice the "s") and don't move actual distance you can in a action make a 5-foot steep.

It actually says 'one 5 foot step' in a round, not 'a 5 foot step' in one round which makes all the difference.
 

Remove ads

Top