One-handed weapon as two-handed weapon in disarm?

Quasqueton

First Post
The 3.0 rules used to give a +4 on the roll for the larger weapon in a disarm contest, and another +4 if the weapon was held in two hands. If a longsworder (held in two hands) was fighting against a greatsworder, the longsworder got +4 for the two hands, but the greatsworder got +4 for two hands and +4 for larger weapon.

The 3.5 rules for the disarm action say a combatant with a two-handed weapon gets +4 on his roll. But it doesn't explain further than that (looking at the SRD here). Say the combatant is using a longsword with both hands (has no shield). Is the "one-handed weapon" longsword then classified a "two-handed weapon"? Would it get the +4?

How about a bastard sword with the Exotic Weapon Proficiency? Would it loose the +4?

How about a greatsword used with the Monkey Grip feat? Would it loose the +4?

The rules for using a "one-handed weapon" don't say anything about changing this classification when using two hands.

Just trying to make sure I'm not crosswiring my rules-editions. I'm looking at this tactic being used in an upcoming game, so I want to make sure I'm knowledgeable of the action.

Quasqueton
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The power attack question could be relevant here.

When someone is using a two handed weapon with one and through use of the monkey grip feat, do they still get +2 per -1?

--Answerless Spikey
 

The 3.5 rules say a two handed weapon... not a weapon held in two hands. So I would say the Longsword doesnt get the +4. Which does seem unfair of course... but a holding a small axe in two hands shouldnt help thou.

He does in p.155 mention the light weapon soon after taking a -4 penalty... so I think he is refering to size.
 

Quasqueton said:
How about a bastard sword with the Exotic Weapon Proficiency? Would it loose the +4?

How about a greatsword used with the Monkey Grip feat? Would it loose the +4?
Quasqueton [/B]

You've uncovered one of the big problems with the move from subjective weapon sizes to objective weapon classifications. In 3.5, "two-handed" is a very specific weapon size--it specifically does *not* mean "a weapon used in two hands".

It's silly, but according to the 3.5 rules a medium person monkey-gripping a greatsword would get a disarm bonus over a medium person using a battle axe in two hands.

What's not silly is that a medium person using a greatsword gets a disarm bonus over an ogre using a (ogre-sized but one-handed) longsword, but the size difference cancels it out. In 3.0, the weapon sizes would be the same (greatsword = longsword to ogre) so the ogre would get a net +4 bonus (from size).

Feel free to house-rule this one.

-z
 
Last edited:

Re: Re: One-handed weapon as two-handed weapon in disarm?

Zaruthustran said:
It's silly, but according to the 3.5 rules a medium person monkey-gripping a greatsword would get a disarm bonus over a medium person using a battle axe in two hands.

What's not silly is that a medium person using a greatsword gets a disarm bonus over an ogre using a (ogre-sized but one-handed) longsword, but the size difference cancels it out. In 3.0, the weapon sizes would be the same (greatsword = longsword to ogre) so the ogre would get a net +4 bonus (from size).
In 3.0, the medium-sized person gets a +4 bonus over the ogre - there's no bonus for creature size in disarms. The weapons are both Large, but the medium-sized combatant is using his in two hands, giving him a net +4 bonus.
 

Re: Re: Re: One-handed weapon as two-handed weapon in disarm?

Spatula said:
In 3.0, the medium-sized person gets a +4 bonus over the ogre - there's no bonus for creature size in disarms. The weapons are both Large, but the medium-sized combatant is using his in two hands, giving him a net +4 bonus.

Oops!

-z
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top