Oots #434

Another great rules/ humour combo! Sweet!

PS: In that OotS 216, how is it that the half-ogre gets multiple attacks of opportunity vs Roy? I thought you were limited to one per opponent? Or am I sadly misinformed?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

carborundum said:
Another great rules/ humour combo! Sweet!

PS: In that OotS 216, how is it that the half-ogre gets multiple attacks of opportunity vs Roy? I thought you were limited to one per opponent? Or am I sadly misinformed?

Its an error. Movement only provokes one AoO, even if you move through multiple threatened squares.
 

diaglo said:
where was Roy's AoO for X grabbing the crown? i guess that means X has the feat chain to snatch items.
Clearly, Roy is Balancing on the dragon. One can assume he doesn't have 5 ranks in Balance. He therefore is considered flat-footed, and cannot make Attacks of Opportunity.

Nareau

Edit: Nuts, you guys are fast!
 

carborundum said:
Another great rules/ humour combo! Sweet!

PS: In that OotS 216, how is it that the half-ogre gets multiple attacks of opportunity vs Roy? I thought you were limited to one per opponent? Or am I sadly misinformed?

Combat Reflexes feat. He says so in the strip.
 

Presto2112 said:
Combat Reflexes feat. He says so in the strip.
He's talking about Roy provoking that many AoO's, not the half-ogre taking that many.
 

Presto2112 said:
Combat Reflexes feat. He says so in the strip.

This...

SRD said:
This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more than one opportunity for that opponent.

...is the rules text (emphasis mine) Carborundum is referring to, and which Rich's Spiked Chain Ogre breaks. Apparently, the OotS DM once again pulled a fast one on Roy's player who wasn't paying attention, didn't know the AoO rules well enough and didn't bother looking it up.

Also, Roy never managed to finish any of his charges and get in his attacks, which he should have been able to.
 

Pbartender said:
This...



...is the rules text (emphasis mine) Carborundum is referring to, and which Rich's Spiked Chain Ogre breaks. Apparently, the OotS DM once again pulled a fast one on Roy's player who wasn't paying attention, didn't know the AoO rules well enough and didn't bother looking it up.

Also, Roy never managed to finish any of his charges and get in his attacks, which he should have been able to.

Though he could have Hold the Line, which is pretty standard for these builds. Hmmm, five feats...EWP, Combat Reflexes, Dodge, Mobility, Spring Attack...so he doesn't happen to have that, but it would be a solution.
 

ehren37 said:
Its an error. Movement only provokes one AoO, even if you move through multiple threatened squares.

yes, but Roy was charging the ogre.

Clearly the Ogre also has Hold the Line. Which with reach would allow two AoOs.

edit: and I see someone else already mentioned that...
 

Drowbane said:
yes, but Roy was charging the ogre.

Clearly the Ogre also has Hold the Line. Which with reach would allow two AoOs.

edit: and I see someone else already mentioned that...


Shouldn't the OGL Lawyers have made an appearance then?
 


Remove ads

Top