D&D 5E Opportunity attack question

Thx guys, yes i guess he didnt have to swoop down that close to us to do his breath weapon, so thats fine, but the DM said it would only be a opportunity attack if he started in an adjacent square to you and then left
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Thx guys, yes i guess he didnt have to swoop down that close to us to do his breath weapon, so thats fine, but the DM said it would only be a opportunity attack if he started in an adjacent square to you and then left
You don't have to start your turn there, entering a space within reach of a creature and then leaving it will provoke an OA wether you started there or got in here thereafter.
 


Would we all get an attack against him?

Only those of you the dragon passed within five feet of (I'm assuming none of you had a reach weapon).

So if, for example, he had flown down in front of the Fighter, then breathed on him and the wizards behind the Fighter, then flew up up and away, only the Fighter would get an opportunity attack.

But that said, as a DM, I would have have described the dragon as never getting close enough to draw those opportunity attacks (except for a PC with a reach weapon, because that's why the player chose the reach weapon), so I say that the scenario your DM provided is fine, even if he muffed a minor rule.
 


Remove ads

Top