Outsider/Ooze/Plant....Huh?


log in or register to remove this ad

Crothian said:
The balance issues are not really the point. Guess I could e-mail the sage this and have him ignore me. :rolleyes:

Just take the Heartwarder of Sune PrC after ten levels in Oozemaster. Every other level you get a point of Charisma, and at level 10 your type turns to Fey. You'll be the cutest puddle of snot anyone has ever seen. :D
 

If you had both Outsider and Plant as traits, I would rule that whenever you had a conflict between the traits of an Outsider and the traits of Oozes (or Plants or whatever), the more advantagous trait would apply. BUT, I would rule that whenever a spell or other activity specifically effected either Outsiders or Plants, that you would count as both. For instance if you are a character with both the Outsider and Plant traits, then a Ranger with Outsider and a Ranger with Plant as favored enemies would both get thier favored enemy bonuses against you.
 

Kai Lord said:


Just take the Heartwarder of Sune PrC after ten levels in Oozemaster. Every other level you get a point of Charisma, and at level 10 your type turns to Fey. You'll be the cutest puddle of snot anyone has ever seen. :D

Lol, What is that PrCl from?
 

Celebrim said:
If you had both Outsider and Plant as traits, I would rule that whenever you had a conflict between the traits of an Outsider and the traits of Oozes (or Plants or whatever), the more advantagous trait would apply. BUT, I would rule that whenever a spell or other activity specifically effected either Outsiders or Plants, that you would count as both. For instance if you are a character with both the Outsider and Plant traits, then a Ranger with Outsider and a Ranger with Plant as favored enemies would both get thier favored enemy bonuses against you.

I e-mailed the Sage, so with any luck I'll get a response. If someone counts as two creature types then I think they should get the positives and negatives of both types.
 



Crothian said:
What happens when a character gains two presite classes to tenth level and each of the tenth level abilities is one that changes what the character is? Say we have a character that is 10th level Shifter/10th Verdant loed. Does he now count as both a shapechanger and a Plant? Or does the one he gained last count. So, if he was 10th Shifter and a shapechanger and then got 10th Verdent lord he would lose all the abilities of the Shapeshifter, and now gain all the ones of the Plant.

Confusing minds want to know.

I want to know! (That should take some of you back :) )

A creature can have multiple types. If the DM can have a vampiric ogre half-fiend monk, a player can certainly have a shapechanger plant. In other words, they stack. The positive side of this is you get all the benefits of having both types. The negative is anything special that affects both types affect your character as well.
 

Re: Re: Outsider/Ooze/Plant....Huh?

ForceUser@Home said:


A creature can have multiple types. If the DM can have a vampiric ogre half-fiend monk, a player can certainly have a shapechanger plant. In other words, they stack.

Um, no. A creature can only have one type, although it's certainly possible for that type to change over time. A vampiric ogre half-fiend monk's type would be whatever it gained last.

Half-fiend ogre: outsider
Half-fiend ogre vampire: undead
Half-fiend ogre vampire, 20th level monk: back to outsider

Half-fiend ogre: outsider
Half-fiend ogre, 20th level monk: still outsider
Half-fiend ogre, 20th level monk, vampire: undead
 

Re: Re: Re: Outsider/Ooze/Plant....Huh?

hong said:


Um, no. A creature can only have one type,

Well, there are two creatures in the ELH (Anaxim and Aropal) that have two types. I'm not saying this proves that it can happen. I'm inclined to say that these are exceptipons to the rules. I'm just pointing them out to muddy the waters.

I'm inclined to agree with you, though I think it would be cooler the other way. :) :)
 

Remove ads

Top