Player query about Actions...

seanmeister

First Post
I am a DM of a campaign and one of the party members has acquired a power which allows him to take an extra move action. He is insistent upon reliable fact of whether he can exchange his 2 move actions (no movement) for a standard action. For now I am saying no, as (if standard = z, move = y and minor = u) I don't believe that z = y + y or even z = y + y + u...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Keep saying no. A move action can become a minor action. A standard action can become a move or minor action. The reverse is not true and there is nothing I've seen stating that you can combine actions, in order to have them become a 'greater' action.

Tell him to show you where the rules support what he's saying. Throw it back in his court.
 

Both you and the player need to look at page 268 of the 4th edition PHB. That lays out the rules for substituting actions.
 
Last edited:



Thanks

Thanks for the responses! This should be fine to decide whether or not he can do it (Oh, and we did check out that page, but he still argued that 2 move actions demanded something else. This is enough justification.) Thanks again.
 


Your player is making stuff up or misinformed.

You absolutely cannot exchange two move actions for a standard, any more than you can trade your standard in for two move actions.

Moreover, you absolutely should not allow him to do it. A standard action is the biggest currency in the game. Even epic-level powers rarely give you an extra standard without qualifying that you cannot attack with it.

If he wants an extra standard action, he has exactly one option: Spend an action point.
 

I'd guess that your player is confused by the Double Move rules (PHB 284). That's the only place I can think of where you can add two Move Actions to get something else (or any other adding of two actions to get something else).

But regardless of where the error comes from, it's an error. There's no rule that lets you trade up lesser actions into bigger actions.
 

I am a DM of a campaign and one of the party members has acquired a power which allows him to take an extra move action. He is insistent upon reliable fact of whether he can exchange his 2 move actions (no movement) for a standard action. For now I am saying no, as (if standard = z, move = y and minor = u) I don't believe that z = y + y or even z = y + y + u...

I'm curious what the power is and what the context was. Of course your player has it wrong, but the specifics might be illuminating.

Or, you know, hit him with your DM nunchaku.
 

Remove ads

Top