Hiya everyone,
Got a couple rules-related questions that have been stock-piling. Actually, only 3 of 'em. If you have a moment, I'd appreciate some help.
1] What's the limit to a Diplomacy check?
The DMG lists DC's to change an NPC's initial attitude via a Diplomacy (or CHA) check. Some of the DC's are not impossible to achieve for higher-level and/or highly charismatic PC's. In fact, it'd be fairly commonplace for a 18 CHA mid-level character to be able to change a Hostile NPC to an Indifferent NPC (DC 25). One of my players wants to know why he can (or cannot) use Diplomacy prior to any impending combat and/or as a standard action during the combat. Diplomacy is not charm monster certainly, but how can I prevent it being used as such when the rules seem to allude that it can and should work.
Example: PC's are confronted by a band of demons. Demons are, of course, hostile to the good-aligned party. The PC in question wants to be able to attempt a Diplomacy check (DC 25) to change their attitude to Indifferent, and thus be able to skirt the demonic band and allow the party to continue on its way.
In some cases, I would certainly allow a Dip check and reward its use with experience. But I want to avoid the PC attempting a Dip check any time he comes across intelligent, hostile beings. Is there anything, mind you - in the rules, that would not require me to simply Rule 0 that some creatures cannot be swayed by Diplomacy checks, despite the information within the Core Rules.
I have to be missing something here. Please help.
2] The same PC would like to use his polymorph other to poly ogres to toads. His buddy would collect the toads in a sack. During a future combat, his buddy would toss the sack toward new enemies, and our spellcasting friend would cast dispel magic on the collection of toads that spilled out. Since PO doesn't have a (D) in its duration, I assume a Dispel Magic is required. The description for Dispel Magic says that a caster may automatically Dispel his own spell effects (without a caster level check). So...can he do this? Would he change just one toad per DM casting, or would they all change? That is, could he use a DM with the Area Effect option to change all the toads to ogres?
3] Finally, under the Concentration skill it talks about making a check if you are distracted (by another spell) even if that spell doesn't inflict damage. The same PC wonders if a counter-spell attempt by himself, even if he fails his roll, would be enough to warrant a Concentration check by the opponent spellcaster. I said no, but I would appreciate some support on this, or someone showing me why I'm wrong.
Thanks for your help. Croth, Cali, anyone - would really be grateful if some of you experts could step in and help me out. While my PC is not a rules' lawyer or whiner, he does know the rules very well. If you make an argument, I would appreciate reference page numbers wherever possible, should you have the time.
Thanks!
RJ
Got a couple rules-related questions that have been stock-piling. Actually, only 3 of 'em. If you have a moment, I'd appreciate some help.
1] What's the limit to a Diplomacy check?
The DMG lists DC's to change an NPC's initial attitude via a Diplomacy (or CHA) check. Some of the DC's are not impossible to achieve for higher-level and/or highly charismatic PC's. In fact, it'd be fairly commonplace for a 18 CHA mid-level character to be able to change a Hostile NPC to an Indifferent NPC (DC 25). One of my players wants to know why he can (or cannot) use Diplomacy prior to any impending combat and/or as a standard action during the combat. Diplomacy is not charm monster certainly, but how can I prevent it being used as such when the rules seem to allude that it can and should work.
Example: PC's are confronted by a band of demons. Demons are, of course, hostile to the good-aligned party. The PC in question wants to be able to attempt a Diplomacy check (DC 25) to change their attitude to Indifferent, and thus be able to skirt the demonic band and allow the party to continue on its way.
In some cases, I would certainly allow a Dip check and reward its use with experience. But I want to avoid the PC attempting a Dip check any time he comes across intelligent, hostile beings. Is there anything, mind you - in the rules, that would not require me to simply Rule 0 that some creatures cannot be swayed by Diplomacy checks, despite the information within the Core Rules.
I have to be missing something here. Please help.
2] The same PC would like to use his polymorph other to poly ogres to toads. His buddy would collect the toads in a sack. During a future combat, his buddy would toss the sack toward new enemies, and our spellcasting friend would cast dispel magic on the collection of toads that spilled out. Since PO doesn't have a (D) in its duration, I assume a Dispel Magic is required. The description for Dispel Magic says that a caster may automatically Dispel his own spell effects (without a caster level check). So...can he do this? Would he change just one toad per DM casting, or would they all change? That is, could he use a DM with the Area Effect option to change all the toads to ogres?
3] Finally, under the Concentration skill it talks about making a check if you are distracted (by another spell) even if that spell doesn't inflict damage. The same PC wonders if a counter-spell attempt by himself, even if he fails his roll, would be enough to warrant a Concentration check by the opponent spellcaster. I said no, but I would appreciate some support on this, or someone showing me why I'm wrong.
Thanks for your help. Croth, Cali, anyone - would really be grateful if some of you experts could step in and help me out. While my PC is not a rules' lawyer or whiner, he does know the rules very well. If you make an argument, I would appreciate reference page numbers wherever possible, should you have the time.
Thanks!
RJ