pogre's weekly game questions

pogre

Legend
Hello again,

Another rules question from my weekly game.

Let's say a Hezrou cast Blasphemy at a party of 11th level characters. Since the Hezrou casts the spell at 13th level, all non-evil characters within 30' would be Dazedfor a round and are weakened by 2d6 strength for 2d4 rounds. Assume the Hezrou again casts Blasphemy the very next round - clearly the characters would be dazed for another round, but would they be weakened even further?

Thanks,

pogre
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't think so. As I understand it, modifiers from the same spell source don't stack, not even penalties. However, the effects do overlap. So, for example, if you rolled more strength "damage" on the second casting you would use that amount. Also, you need to keep track of the durations separately.
 

It's weird, because the spell description states : "The creature’s Strength score decreases by 2d6 points for 2d4 rounds", when, usually, a spell description will mention if the decrease in question is a penalty (which doesn't stack with itself) or ability damage (which does stack with itself).

It this case, I would think, as Jim said, that it's a penalty, doesn't stack, but does indeed overlap.

AR
 

JimAde said:
I don't think so. As I understand it, modifiers from the same spell source don't stack, not even penalties. However, the effects do overlap. So, for example, if you rolled more strength "damage" on the second casting you would use that amount. Also, you need to keep track of the durations separately.


I have to agree here. If the reduction in strength had been termed actually as strength damage then the strength loss would be cumulative. Since it is characterized as a temporary reduction rather than damage, roll the second set of modifiers and only apply them if they are higher than from the first casting or if their duration runs longer.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top