Had a fun situation to deal with as a DM in my last session, and I'd like some advice.
The party 21st level wizard/archmage tossed out a polymorph any object, targeting the nearby ground, to create a massive, albit thin, stone wall to stem the advancement of an army and to provide cover from enemy archers. The wall was technically within the dimensions of the spell limitations. The player reasons that the wall should be permanent, and I can mostly agree with his reasoning per the spell description. This isn't the first time a polymorph any object has been stretched to its max by the player and made me think twice, however.
My question is, has anyone else run into similar situations when ruling over a polymorph any object, or is it simply that powerful of a spell? At what point do you draw the line, and are there any suggestions for house rules to put limits on the spell? Opinions are welcome.
The party 21st level wizard/archmage tossed out a polymorph any object, targeting the nearby ground, to create a massive, albit thin, stone wall to stem the advancement of an army and to provide cover from enemy archers. The wall was technically within the dimensions of the spell limitations. The player reasons that the wall should be permanent, and I can mostly agree with his reasoning per the spell description. This isn't the first time a polymorph any object has been stretched to its max by the player and made me think twice, however.
My question is, has anyone else run into similar situations when ruling over a polymorph any object, or is it simply that powerful of a spell? At what point do you draw the line, and are there any suggestions for house rules to put limits on the spell? Opinions are welcome.