Can an undead be the target of a Baleful Polymorph? Per the rules for Baleful Polymorph, I see no reason why not, but it does seem to have the unintended affect of bringing an undead creature to life, since Polymorph says that the creature takes on the new form's type (which, in the case of Baleful Polymorph, is type "animal").
This came up in our game recently and as DM I was at a loss for how to handle it. I didn't like the idea that the spell could "give life" to something of "unlife" so I ultimately decided to rule that the bodak was changed into an undead toad (that still thought it was a bodak!
)
Anyway, just thought I'd see if someone could point me towards the official ruling on this (if, in fact, one exists). - Thanks!
This came up in our game recently and as DM I was at a loss for how to handle it. I didn't like the idea that the spell could "give life" to something of "unlife" so I ultimately decided to rule that the bodak was changed into an undead toad (that still thought it was a bodak!

Anyway, just thought I'd see if someone could point me towards the official ruling on this (if, in fact, one exists). - Thanks!