Possibly..err...probably..a stupid question

AZRogue said:
Per power, huh? Wow, that's more rolling than I had thought. :) So, what do you do? Roll at the beginning of each monsters' turn, or at the end?

The roll occurs at the beginning of the monster's turn, yeah.

But actually, it's not that much more rolling. After all, you'll start with the one you want to use that round, and if it comes up a recharge, there's no point going any further. :) (Unless one of the powers you want to use is something other than a standard action.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Mouseferatu said:
The roll occurs at the beginning of the monster's turn, yeah.

But actually, it's not that much more rolling. After all, you'll start with the one you want to use that round, and if it comes up a recharge, there's no point going any further. :) (Unless one of the powers you want to use is something other than a standard action.)
But a power, once recharged, stays recharged until you use it again, right? So even if you recharge the power you want to use that turn, you'd still want to roll for the others to get a better chance of having them available next turn.

Incidentally, if the recharge always on a certain number or higher, why write "4 5 6" instead of just "4+"?
 

Gloombunny said:
But a power, once recharged, stays recharged until you use it again, right? So even if you recharge the power you want to use that turn, you'd still want to roll for the others to get a better chance of having them available next turn.

Well yeah, I guess you could do that. But that's an extra level of bookkeeping that simply isn't required. It's a viable idea, but for me personally, I don't think it'd be worth it.

Incidentally, if the recharge always on a certain number or higher, why write "4 5 6" instead of just "4+"?

Clarity? Aesthetics? A chance to use the nifty little d6 icons? ;) Honestly, I couldn't tell you.
 

Mouseferatu said:
Well yeah, I guess you could do that. But that's an extra level of bookkeeping that simply isn't required. It's a viable idea, but for me personally, I don't think it'd be worth it.
Probably not a bad house rule, though: only one ability recharges per round, and after rolling a single d6, the DM decides which it is if he has a choice.
 

Mouseferatu said:
Nope, it's one per each power.

And there are no powers that recharge on only a 4, or a 1 or 2. Every power recharges on #-plus. One might recharge only on 6, while another recharges on a 4, 5, or 6--but none on just a 4.

Ah, I see. There appeared to be recharges like that on the DDM roleplaying stats, so if it's per power, I'm glad to hear that isn't also the case in the RPG proper.
 

One more thing:

If you wish to check each round for all powers, I found something that helped me.

I decided from the get-go that first power on the list is red power, next is yellow, next is green, then blue (if the monster has 4 recharging powers)

Then I have a red, yellow, green and blue d6 set aside only for rolling the recharge powers. That way, it's one throw, and I always know which power recharges.

Hope this makes sense.

Cheers
 

Jack99 said:
One more thing:

If you wish to check each round for all powers, I found something that helped me.

I decided from the get-go that first power on the list is red power, next is yellow, next is green, then blue (if the monster has 4 recharging powers)

Then I have a red, yellow, green and blue d6 set aside only for rolling the recharge powers. That way, it's one throw, and I always know which power recharges.

Hope this makes sense.

Cheers
Good idea--although the only way to get one monster with 4 recharge powers seems to be to slap 2 templates with recharge powers on a monster that already has 2.
 

Mouseferatu said:
Nope, it's one per each power.

And there are no powers that recharge on only a 4, or a 1 or 2. Every power recharges on #-plus. One might recharge only on 6, while another recharges on a 4, 5, or 6--but none on just a 4.

You know, the recharge on a d6 is one of the few issues I have with 4e.

Why not a d20?
 

cdrcjsn said:
You know, the recharge on a d6 is one of the few issues I have with 4e.

Why not a d20?
And why have Recharge :4: :5: :6: when you could just say Recharge 4+? It made sense when it was one roll for all abilities, but now it doesn't.
 

Well it adds some flexibility in monster design to use the full array. As someone pointed out in another thread maybe in the MM there are monster who recharge power A on a 1 or 2, power B on a 3 or 4 and power C on a 5 or 6. I can see this happen for chaotic monsters
 

Remove ads

Top