BTRobertson
First Post
Hi all. New to playing the GM/DM in the new 4.0 D&D rule set. In our group, we switch roles of DM per adventure, so now it's my turn to finally play my Eladrin Wizard.
So I've been going along here pretty well and my wizard is about to level up to 5. As such, he will gain access to a new set of Daily Spells. This is what's confusing me in a nutshell:
The PHB states that at 1st level the wizard gets 2 daily powers in the spellbook - I chose Acid Arrow and Flaming Sphere. Now, I know I can only prepare one of those two per day (i.e. one after an extended rest). I believe I'm good so far.
Now, at level 5, the chart on page 29 says I choose 1 daily attack power. I chose Bigby's Icy Grasp and added it to my spellbook. That leaves me with 3 dailies in my spellbook, but I noticed that the chart says 2/2/2/1 at level 5. I believe those are the "slots", as in, how many of each type I can cast? I realize that the chart says 2/2/2/1 because all classes/races refer to that chart generally speaking, but the wizard class specifically states that at 1st level I know 2 daily spells. So I assume this means I can know 3 at level 5.
If I'm good so far, now on to what I can/can't cast. Am I able to prepare and cast more than 1 daily spell now at level 5 since I opened up a higher level slot? Or am I still stuck at preparing only 1 daily spell to cast during combat? It seems I would/should be able to cast 1 5th level daily spell I know and 1 1st level daily spell I know, but that's my question. The book just isn't clear, unless I missed it somewhere.
I'm the only wizard and this system is brand new for everyone in my group, so I figured I'd check here for the real answer. Thanks ahead of time.
So I've been going along here pretty well and my wizard is about to level up to 5. As such, he will gain access to a new set of Daily Spells. This is what's confusing me in a nutshell:
The PHB states that at 1st level the wizard gets 2 daily powers in the spellbook - I chose Acid Arrow and Flaming Sphere. Now, I know I can only prepare one of those two per day (i.e. one after an extended rest). I believe I'm good so far.
Now, at level 5, the chart on page 29 says I choose 1 daily attack power. I chose Bigby's Icy Grasp and added it to my spellbook. That leaves me with 3 dailies in my spellbook, but I noticed that the chart says 2/2/2/1 at level 5. I believe those are the "slots", as in, how many of each type I can cast? I realize that the chart says 2/2/2/1 because all classes/races refer to that chart generally speaking, but the wizard class specifically states that at 1st level I know 2 daily spells. So I assume this means I can know 3 at level 5.
If I'm good so far, now on to what I can/can't cast. Am I able to prepare and cast more than 1 daily spell now at level 5 since I opened up a higher level slot? Or am I still stuck at preparing only 1 daily spell to cast during combat? It seems I would/should be able to cast 1 5th level daily spell I know and 1 1st level daily spell I know, but that's my question. The book just isn't clear, unless I missed it somewhere.
I'm the only wizard and this system is brand new for everyone in my group, so I figured I'd check here for the real answer. Thanks ahead of time.