Egres
First Post
It's a simple weapon that is considered a light weapon.pawsplay said:Where it's not a light weapon? I think the chart must bow to the primary source rule in this case.
It's a simple weapon that is considered a light weapon.pawsplay said:Where it's not a light weapon? I think the chart must bow to the primary source rule in this case.
Notmousse said:If we continue with this idea that unarmed strikes are light weapons not only do you need to be proficient with them, but must ready them before you may attack.
Actually, they are listed as simple weapons.Notmousse said:Good catch, they're not simple, they are light.
Can you cite the passage that leads you to think so?But I get that idea from the exact same place I get the idea that you need to ready any of your weapons, by unsheathing it, drawing it from a storage compartment, etc...
Egres said:Actually, they are listed as simple weapons.
Can you cite the passage that leads you to think so?
Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your action. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you’re unarmed, you don’t normally threaten any squares and thus can’t make attacks of opportunity.
threaten: To be able to attack in melee without moving from your current space. A creature typically threatens all squares within its natural reach, even when it is not its turn to take an action. For Medium or Small creature this usually includes all squares adjacent to its space. Larger creatures threaten more squares, while smaller creatures may not threaten any squares except their own.
Is it? IDNHMBIFOM, but I didn't think it was.Egres said:Even if it's listed in the simple weapons chart?
Text only trumps tables when there is a contradiction between the two. I haven't seen any text yet that contradicts the table.irdeggman said:Only in the table though. Text trumps tables in general.
Whether or not you can hold certain weapons without wielding them is a huge debate that comes up in most TWF threads. I'll just say here that I agree with you on this point, but the rules are far from clear on it.IMO this comes from the difference between "wielding" and "holding".
Deset Gled said:IMO, calling an unarmed strike a simple weapon in the table without specifically calling out that monks are proficient with them is something that falls under the category of "dumb editing mistake that should have been rectified years ago, but wasn't because WotC hates to get off their collective asses and issue errata unless they absolutely have to".