Properties and multiple implements

Kzach

Banned
Banned
Can you gain the benefit of multiple implement properties by wielding two at the same time?

I know that bonuses to damage and hit don't count, but what about properties that don't state you have to even wield the item let alone use it as part of the attack?

A for instance is the Master's Wand of Magic Missiles. Unlike the Force Wand and Staff of Missile Mastery which both specifically state you have to use them to gain the properties, the Master's Wand of Magic Missiles simply says that whenever you cast Magic Missile, you gain the benefit of the property.

Property: Any target you hit with the magic missile power is pushed 1 square.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pretty sure the Properties count even if you are offhanding the implement.

Can't recall exactly where this is written (tho the FAQ* has the Warlock benefitting from a rod in each hand - tho only attacking with one)

*Answer

I'm sure a lot of builds make use of this fact my having things like Subtle Daggers as implements in the offhand (or Staff Of Ruin).
 

The rules say yes.
Heck, you don't even have to be wielding the implement to get the properties/bonuses as the FAQ points out.
 

However, do understand that properties that involve using a power require using that accessory to attack with the power in order to work.

So two master's magic missles wands don't work because you're not using both to attack.
 

The rules say yes.
Heck, you don't even have to be wielding the implement to get the properties/bonuses as the FAQ points out.
You still need to hold it though.

I'm guessing you're basing your reply on the light shield + implement answer, where they use the language that the shield is "wielded" and the implement merely "held". But aside from that special case (and holy symbols of course), you could say you need to wield your implement to take advantage of its "passive" properties.

Like DS says, some powers are "active" which means you need to do the attack with that implement.

And, obviously, you never get the implement's enhancement bonus to attack or damage or its crit dice, unless you do the attack with that implement.
 

Remove ads

Top