wlmartin
Explorer
Hi,
I have read on the WotC forums regarding these and am not 100% sure I understand it properly so if anyone can help - that is great.
The question refers to powers that take control of a monsters action(s) and permit it to do something.
Telepathic Projection :
While the target is affected by your Telepathic Projection, when you start your turn the target makes a melee basic attack as a free action against a target you choose
On a miss : The target makes a random melee attack against a creature
So, it seems that when you have control of a creature in this fashion, you are permitted to allow it to attack itself according to the debates on the WotC forums. What I don't get is... what is the reasoning for this?
(see wotc forum link here : Whoops! Browser Settings Incompatible)
Also : On the miss, can the random attack include itself (ie if there are 3 people close, its a 1d4 to see if he gets himself or the others)
I want my psion to be able to do this and all the evidence and discussions point to the fact that he can but when my DM asks me why, I want to know that I am not talking rubbish.
The way I read it, if a creature can choose to make a melee basic attack hitting itself intentionally (ie it might want to make itself bloodied to get enraged) then the RAW allow this to happen. If this is not possible, its not possible for me to do it if I take control of the creature.
If it said "another creature" or "adjacent creature" or "nearby ally" then I see that I would not be permitted to use it to attack itself but it states just "target I choose" or "random creature".
What ideally I am looking for is a specific ruling from WotC on the subject and/or a coherent argument supporting that when I mind control someone, I get to do this.
Thanks in advance
I have read on the WotC forums regarding these and am not 100% sure I understand it properly so if anyone can help - that is great.
The question refers to powers that take control of a monsters action(s) and permit it to do something.
Telepathic Projection :
While the target is affected by your Telepathic Projection, when you start your turn the target makes a melee basic attack as a free action against a target you choose
On a miss : The target makes a random melee attack against a creature
So, it seems that when you have control of a creature in this fashion, you are permitted to allow it to attack itself according to the debates on the WotC forums. What I don't get is... what is the reasoning for this?
(see wotc forum link here : Whoops! Browser Settings Incompatible)
Also : On the miss, can the random attack include itself (ie if there are 3 people close, its a 1d4 to see if he gets himself or the others)
I want my psion to be able to do this and all the evidence and discussions point to the fact that he can but when my DM asks me why, I want to know that I am not talking rubbish.
The way I read it, if a creature can choose to make a melee basic attack hitting itself intentionally (ie it might want to make itself bloodied to get enraged) then the RAW allow this to happen. If this is not possible, its not possible for me to do it if I take control of the creature.
If it said "another creature" or "adjacent creature" or "nearby ally" then I see that I would not be permitted to use it to attack itself but it states just "target I choose" or "random creature".
What ideally I am looking for is a specific ruling from WotC on the subject and/or a coherent argument supporting that when I mind control someone, I get to do this.
Thanks in advance