Psionic Lions Charge Rules?

dragnmastr85

First Post
Let me first give you what this psionic power does:

Psionic Lion’s Charge
Psychometabolism
Level: Psychic warrior 2
Display: Mental
Manifesting Time: 1 swift action
Range: Personal
Target: You
Duration: Instantaneous
Power Points: 3
You gain the powerful charging ability of a lion. When you charge, you can make a full attack in the same round.
You can manifest this power with an instant thought, quickly enough to gain the benefit of the power as you charge. Manifesting the power is a swift action, like manifesting a quickened power, and it counts toward the normal limit of one quickened power per round. You cannot manifest this power when it isn’t your turn.
Augment: For every additional power point you spend, each of your attacks after a charge in the current round gains a circumstance bonus on damage equal to the number of additional points spent.

END OF POWER DESCRIPTION

Now heres the question; how many of these attacks in the full round action will gain the charge bonus if any. I think it would be just the first attack. This is a psionic warrior minotaur just so you know. Also he rides on a huge wyvern. He also has the spirited charge feat. Now if he uses psionic lions charge while mounted would he gain the double damage on the full attack and all attacks in that sequence? Pretty crazy minotaur huh?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


After looking over things, I don't think so. A charge allows you to "move up to twice your speed and attack during the action."

Lion's Charge allows you to charge and "make a full attack in the same round."

The charge should end after that first attack. And then you get your full attack. So that first attack gets the +2 bonus and any other bonuses. The rest of your attacks are just normal ones.

However, this gets me thinking. I guess you can get two attacks using this power even if you only have a Base Attack Bonus of +5 (or less).

Hmm... looking over the Pounce ability, it's the same thing. A Charge followed by a full attack.

Don't take my word for it though, my rules-fu is weak.
 

Ok, here's a bag of worms for you.

By the RAW reading of the power, does this not allow you to take a full attack action during a surprise round? You can only make one attack, or one move, but a charge and attack IS allowed...and by this power's wording, you should be able to get in all your attacks.
 

myradale said:
Ok, here's a bag of worms for you.

By the RAW reading of the power, does this not allow you to take a full attack action during a surprise round? You can only make one attack, or one move, but a charge and attack IS allowed...and by this power's wording, you should be able to get in all your attacks.

I don't think you can use a swift action in a surprise round. I do however thnk that WotC hasn't fully incorporated the swift and immediate actions into the combat system yet, but per the present RAW it appears you can't take a swift action in a surprise round since it takes more effort than a free action and yu can only take a standard action and free actions in a surprise round.

The Surprise Round: If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. Any combatants aware of the opponents can act in the surprise round, so they roll for initiative. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard action during the surprise round. You can also take free actions during the surprise round. If no one or everyone is surprised, no surprise round occurs.

Swift Action: A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. However, you can perform only a single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action any time you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve psionics or the activation of psionic items; many characters (especially those who don’t use psionics) never have an opportunity to take a swift action.

Manifesting a quickened power is a swift action. In addition, manifesting any power with a casting time of 1 swift action is a swift action.

Manifesting a power with a manifesting time of 1 swift action does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
 

Pounce (Ex): When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability.
....it can follow with a full attack....maybe you have only the bonuses from the charge on the first attack as you said.
For me you can make a swift action in a surprise round but not combined with a standard action, you can cast a quickened spell+talk a bit+make a 5' move, that's all.
In fact the swift action in a surprise round is the same that a standard action.
 

Nothing was ever said about doing this in a surprise round. And I dont think that I should be able to get a charge attack and THEN a full attack on top of that. The first attack in your full attack action I think would be considered the chrage attack.
 

SRD said:
Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll. and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.
A charging character gets a +2 bonus on the Strength check made to bull rush an opponent (see Bull Rush, above).
Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge.

That is all it says in the SRD about the attack bonus gained after making a charge attack. Obviously the second paragraph doesn't matter (bull rushing is not at issue) nor does the third paragraph since this psionic power is an exception to that rule.
It would seem to me that this would leave it open to going either way.

However it does say, +2 bonus on the attack roll, refering to the single melee attack first mentioned, you may make a single melee attack, therefore it seems that this attack bonus is only gained to the first attack.

Then again the power itself reads the followingn When you charge, you can make a full attack in the same round., which could be interpreted to mean that you get the charge attack plus an additional full round attack action (thoroughly broke). Though no sane DM would allow it like that.

As for spirited charge you'd only gain it on attacks that count as charge attacks which depends on all of the above.
 

With Psionic Lion's Pounce (or any pounce ability sharing similar rules language), you may, in order:

  1. Charge as a full-round action. Move up to twice your speed in a straight line free of hampering terrain and make a single melee attack with a +2 bonus.
  2. Make a full attack. Make any and all attacks to which your BAB and other abilities allow.

And of course you can use a swift action in a surprise round.
 

There is a Wild feat in the CoD giving the same power; it's called Lion's pounce.
You spend A wild shape as a free action and you can make a full attack after a charge action.
 

Remove ads

Top