Psychic Warrior... Easy to make super powerful?

Staffan said:
Weapon Focus specifies "You can also choose unarmed strike or grapple (or ray, if you are a spellcaster) as your weapon for purposes of this feat." So does Weapon Specialization. Notably, Improved Critical does not.

It doesn't so much "specify" that you can use unarmed strike or grapple with Weapon Focus. I'd say it mentions those as examples, because it is not something a person would normally think of. And they wanted to put it in there to note that you could.

The important part you need to pay attention to is "Proficiency with selected weapon". If it is considered a weapon, and you are proficient with it, you can apply Weapon Focus to it. It says the same thing for Improved Crit. That's the important part...

Staffan said:
But there are plenty of places where the game separates weapons from natural weapons. Such as the Magic Weapon vs Magic Fang spells.

Ahhh, there is my mistake. I thought Claws of the Beast gave you unarmed attacks. In this case, I beleive you may be correct that Psionic Weapon would not work. Not too clear on if natural weapons are considered "weapons". For example, if Weapon Focus (unarmed strike) is "legal", why wouldn't casting Magic Weapon on someone's unarmed strike be legal?

Staffan said:
What Psionic Fist says is: "To use this feat, you must expend your psionic focus. Your unarmed strike or attack with a natural weapon deals an extra 2d6 points of damage.

You must decide whether or not to use this feat prior to making an attack. If your attack misses, you still expend your psionic focus."
If you want to be rules-legalistic, you decide to use the feat before making the attack, but the focus isn't expended until the attack is made.

But it doesn't say that. First line says to use the feat, you have to expend your psionic focus. Ok, I want to use this feat, so I expend it at the beginning of my turn. Oh wait! There is a stipulation that it must be used before making the attack. Whew, I meet that criteria too because I haven't attacked yet. Now regardless if my attack hits or not, I still expend my focus. I can't say "Opps, I missed, I want to keep my focus since I really didn't use it." It's specifying you can't do that.

Staffan said:
Otherwise it would have said "You must decide whether or not to use this feat and expend psionic focus prior to making an attack." And I've already covered the "natural weapon does not equal weapon" thing above.

If it worked the way you propose, I think it would have said something to the effect of: To use this feat, you must expend your psionic focus during your attack. This would make it so you couldn't use it more than once (except in the cast of Psicrystal Containment). But it prevents you from using that Move Action to refocus.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top