Question about Dragonic Power

Shane_Leahy

First Post
Having a discussion about this feat.

Text reads

Your caster level increases by one, and you add 1 to the save DC of all arcane spells with the descriptor or subschool associated with your draonic hertiage

My player argues that the caster level is increased by 1 for all spells, the DC increase is only for spells with the descriptor or subschool.

I read it as both caster level and DC, otherwise the feat is just too powerful.

Thoughts or opinons?

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad






You're both right. As written, the feat improves your caster level for all purposes, and is too powerful. So, why don't you tell him that you accept his interpretation, you think that the feat is too good, and you're nerfing it as a house rule?
 

To be fair, your player had to take one of the worst feats known to mankind to qualify for that feat.

Also, WotC treats it as adding 1 to caster level for all of their bad guys.
 

Shane_Leahy said:
Your caster level increases by one, and you add 1 to the save DC of all arcane spells with the descriptor or subschool associated with your draonic hertiage

As others have stated, the comma indicates two seperate statements: "Your caster level increases by one" and "you add 1 to the save DC of all arcane spells..."

However, if you don't want to argue grammar, simply house rule it and enjoy. As for myself, I think it could be broken in certain situations, but I'd keep it as written.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top