Question About Reach

Aethas

First Post
Here's the scenario: Creature with reach 3 runs right up next to my wizard and attacks. I use an immediate interrupt to teleport 2 squares away (I didn't know he had reach). Is my wizard still hit because I'm still within his reach? Or does the creature miss because he targeted a square that I'm no longer in?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, you would still be hit. You need to completely outside of their reach.

PHB page 268 said:
For example, an enemy makes a melee attack against you, but you use a power that lets you shift away as an immediate interrupt. If your enemy can no longer reach you, the enemy’s attack action is lost.
 

Correct, for the most part. The enemy is not targeting the square, he's targeting you.

However:

If you were invisible before you teleported, then the enemy -would- be targeting the square and it would be a miss.

If that enemy had charged you, he would have had to make his attack from three squares away, as that would be 'the closest square from which he could attack you' and the teleport should have worked in that situation. Also, you'd have known he had reach 3.

The interesting thing is, reach isn't a surprise. Generally, if a monster has reach 3, it's pretty obvious, and the party should have been made aware of it at the beginning of the encounter. No, son, you cannot hide the ability to smack someone 15 feet away in your back pocket.
 

Correct, for the most part. The enemy is not targeting the square, he's targeting you.

However:

If you were invisible before you teleported, then the enemy -would- be targeting the square and it would be a miss.

If that enemy had charged you, he would have had to make his attack from three squares away, as that would be 'the closest square from which he could attack you' and the teleport should have worked in that situation. Also, you'd have known he had reach 3.

The interesting thing is, reach isn't a surprise. Generally, if a monster has reach 3, it's pretty obvious, and the party should have been made aware of it at the beginning of the encounter. No, son, you cannot hide the ability to smack someone 15 feet away in your back pocket.

Bieber is correct, except on one point. The Charge rules have been updated. A creature with reach 3 can stop his movement adjacent or up to 3 squares away from his target as long as he moves at least 2 square and each square of movement brings him closer. You no longer have to make the attack from the closest square from which you can make the attack.
 

Bieber is correct, except on one point. The Charge rules have been updated. A creature with reach 3 can stop his movement adjacent or up to 3 squares away from his target as long as he moves at least 2 square and each square of movement brings him closer. You no longer have to make the attack from the closest square from which you can make the attack.

DAMN YOU UPDAAAAATTTTTEEEESSSSS!

Still. Reach 3 isn't a secret to everybody.
 

Correct, for the most part. The enemy is not targeting the square, he's targeting you.

However:

If you were invisible before you teleported, then the enemy -would- be targeting the square and it would be a miss.

If that enemy had charged you, he would have had to make his attack from three squares away, as that would be 'the closest square from which he could attack you' and the teleport should have worked in that situation. Also, you'd have known he had reach 3.

The interesting thing is, reach isn't a surprise. Generally, if a monster has reach 3, it's pretty obvious, and the party should have been made aware of it at the beginning of the encounter. No, son, you cannot hide the ability to smack someone 15 feet away in your back pocket.
Charge no longer works that way.

EDIT: Ninjaed
 




If you were invisible before you teleported, then the enemy -would- be targeting the square and it would be a miss.

slight correction: invisible and hidden before you teleported...

Unless you make the stealth check, the enemy knows where you are even if you are invisible.
 

Remove ads

Top