D&D 3E/3.5 Question on D&D 3.5 Monk


log in or register to remove this ad




Gauntlets do not count as an armed attack. Read the description. The only change they make to your attack is that you now deal lethal instead of nonlethal damage. Thus, a monk can enchant and use gauntlets while maintaining his special unarmed damage and special abilities.

I also sent this question thru custserv a few months ago, and they verified that this is true.

So, yes you could get those +3 flaming true strike gauntlets, if you wanted to.
 

I was looking at Kensai last night, and it says that in order for the Kensai to enchant his unarmed strikes he has to pay the XP cost as if they were two weapons.
 


I read a bit more on gauntlets... yes they are still considered an unarmed attack, BUT they could as ARMOR, so my monk would loose a lot of abilities for wearing armor.

As for the Kensai... well, I might just ignore that part altogether. Just makes this mess more confusing. It'd be nice if there was some official rule on the number of 'natural weapons' a monk has. I can imagine at least 16 different parts to attack with in various ways. I'll just leave it to the DM to decide.
 



Remove ads

Top