Question on SLA activation

In his Rules of the Game article, the sage writes:
Using a spell-like ability is a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity. Sometimes using a spell-like ability can be a free action or a full-round action, or it can have an even longer activation time. However, it's a standard action unless the ability description specifically says otherwise. A creature using a spell-like ability can use all the tricks that a spellcaster can use to avoid that nasty attack of opportunity. The creature can take a 5-foot step before using the ability (so as to get out of a threatened area). The creature also can make a Concentration check to use the ability defensively.
Which more or less mimics what the MM says regarding activation: Standard action unless specified otherwise.

The Warlock has an invocation that mimics the spell Summon Swarm, which normally requires a full round casting time. Question is this: Does the fact that the ability is based on a full round spell mean that a full round is specified? Or can the Warlock in fact replicate the spell as a STANDARD action?

Can anyone think of a monster with a SLA that is specified as being longer than a standard action?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd say no. It is pretty clear that all invocations are standard actions. If they simply duplicated the casting times of the spells they imitated, it would say so (and some invocations duplicate more than one spell effect, so what would one do then?)

Also, duplicating a spell EFFECT would not include duplicating a casting time, since that is more likely part of the CAUSE. So casting time, material components, verbal components and (more extensive) somatic components would not be duplicated. IMHO.
 

Remove ads

Top