Question: Tumble 35 check -> stand up as free action -> AoO?

Dthamilaye

First Post
Hello.

Simple question:

If I use the ELHB option of making a Tumble check at DC 35 and stand up as free action, do I still provoke AoOs or not? Is there anywhere any rule that says that free actions never provoke AoO?

Thank You.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, the ELH is still 3.0 and back then standing up did not provoke an AoO, so this was a non-issue.

In 3.5 there is no such rule yet AFAIK, so you have to decide for yourself.

It probably makes sense to allow to stand up without provoking an AoO this way, considering that it is using Tumble, which is normally used to avoid AoO from movement also, and that the DC is tough enough to beat, too.

Bye
Thanee
 

Also add in the fact that most free-action don't provoke AoOs. This isn't an official rule, but seem to be a trend.
 

iwatt said:
Also add in the fact that most free-action don't provoke AoOs. This isn't an official rule, but seem to be a trend.
While we're on the topic, what free actions do provoke AoOs? I can't think of any right off hand.
 

Few and far between, but here's a silly one: falling through an opponents threatened area. If you can call that an action at all, given that it's generally involuntary, like being pushed.
 


Dthamilaye said:
If I use the ELHB option of making a Tumble check at DC 35 and stand up as free action, do I still provoke AoOs or not?

I would say not, because as noted earlier, tumble is most often used to avoid AoOs from movement.

Is there anywhere any rule that says that free actions never provoke AoO?

No. It is usually listed as two separate qualities of an action, ie "X is a free action that does not provoke an AoO". This isn't strictly necessary in many cases, because nothing provokes an AoO unless it says it does. They don't need to say "speaking on your turn is a free action that doesn't provoke AoOs" because "speaking on your turn is a free action" is sufficient.

On the other hand, for actions that do provoke AoOs, if they are somehow made into a free action, it is separately noted whether they do not provoke. For instance:

SRD said:
QUICKEN SPELL [METAMAGIC]
Benefit: Casting a quickened spell is a free action. You can perform another action, even casting another spell, in the same round as you cast a quickened spell. You may cast only one quickened spell per round. A spell whose casting time is more than 1 full round action cannot be quickened. A quickened spell uses up a spell slot four levels higher than the spell’s actual level. Casting a quickened spell doesn’t provoke an attack of opportunity.

If free actions never provoked AoOs, they wouldn't need to include the last line there.
 

Dthamilaye said:
Hello.

Simple question:

If I use the ELHB option of making a Tumble check at DC 35 and stand up as free action, do I still provoke AoOs or not? Is there anywhere any rule that says that free actions never provoke AoO?

Thank You.

I think that the sage said that you can tumble from the ground and thus avoid the AOO?
 

sledged said:
While we're on the topic, what free actions do provoke AoOs? I can't think of any right off hand.

Using Rapid Reload to load a light crossbow is a free action that provokes an AoO.

-Hyp.
 

Wow, thanks for all the answers. One of my players is going to be happy happy :).

Few weeks ago, the group fought against few Brachyosaurus(?) from ELHB. This player stayed prone about all fight, though he did fight from there :) (with appropriate penalties).
After this, the tanks of the group have really thought about getting ways to migitiate the effects of tripping/being prone. This ruling helps one of them.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top