Quick drawing stuff

jawill121

First Post
would it be possible to use quick draw with other things besides your weapon.
like a potion.

i understand taking the potion would still take a move action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Quick Draw feat has a term "weapon-like objects" that can be quick drawn. Generally wands and similar items are considered weapon like (typically using something scabbard like to hold it) for this feat.

I feel that the DM/playing group should decide whether a potion fits into the term. I'll add that the potion would need to be in something like a potion belt/bandoleer for quick draw to work, otherwise it's retrieving a stored object.

As an aside: The 3.0 Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting has a masterwork potion belt that allows retrieving a potion as a free action.

Hhhmmm, on checking my SRD does not have the term "weapon-like" I wonder if that is a 3.0 throwback? :erm:
 

Drinking a Potion is a standard action that provokes.

I allow characters to draw a potion (from a belt or bandolier) as part of a move action, just like drawing a weapon. You have to still have that +1 BAB.

Then, with Quick Draw, I allow the potion to be picked as a free action.

I also made another feat for my game which allows you to Stow an Item as a free action with the prereq of Quick Draw.

Remember, you only get one free/immediate/swift action per round which resets at the end of the round (like stabalize rolls, new AoO's, bleeding, etc.)

Aluvial
 

Many DMs allow non-weapon objects that are *easily available* to be drawn as a free action with Quick Draw. You can always claim that you're using the potion as an improvised weapon and backtrack on that once it's drawn, but that's just a technicality; really the distinction between weapon and non-weapon is artificial and there's no reason Quick Draw should be restricted like that in the first place.

The official FAQ answer:

Does drawing a wand from a wand sheath provoke
attacks of opportunity or can I draw it as if it were a
weapon? If I have Quick Draw, can I draw a wand as a free
action?

As described on page 142 of the PH, the “draw a weapon”
action also applies to weaponlike objects carried in easy reach,
such as wands. (The Sage would suggest that magic rods and
staffs also fall into this category.) Thus, drawing a wand doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, and a character with
Quick Draw could draw one as a free action.
 
Last edited:


No - not by RAW.

Rules Compendium pg 8-8

Draw a Weapon see not 12

note says that
Drawing a weapon applies to any weaponlike item, such as a wand, rod, or stff, within easy reach. An item that is stored or out of easy reach must be retrieved as a stored item.

A potion is not considered a "weaponlike" item.

And how is it considered in easy reach?

Technically (i.e., without any "special" equipment) it can't be stored in something that is considered "easy reach" - think of something that functions like a weapon sheath.
 

Once again, posting my Quick Draw houseruled version. Which lets you reduce the drawing action by 1 step of basically anything, so any item that would require a move action becomes a free action (gotta love Heward's Handy Haversack). Also has a "synergy" bonus with Weapon Focus to let you sheathe a weapon as a free action.

Quick Draw [General, Fighter]
Prerequisite: base attack bonus +1
Benefit: You may draw a weapon, retrieve potions from your belt, anything from a Heward’s Handy Haversack, or any other retrieval action that typically requires a move action as a free action. You may draw a hidden weapon as a move action and may make a full attack with thrown weapons.
Synergy: If you have this feat and Weapon Focus for a particular weapon, you may sheathe it as a free action as well.
Normal: See page 142 in the PHB.

It's just a houserule, but I quite like it.
 

Remove ads

Top