Quick question: switching weapons

Harr

First Post
I have in Shadowfell the rule "Drawing a weapon requires the use of a minor action".

I would assume sheathing a weapon is also using a minor action... so in order to switch weapons during combat, would you rule it as two minor actions? Or wrap up both actions in just one minor action? Or is sheathing actually a free action?

I ask because it came up during a short test-session we had.

Maybe someone with an early PHB can shed light for me? :)

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad


You really have two options here I think.

Is the PC dropping the 1st item to draw the second? Or drawing one and actually taking the time to sheath the other?

Dropping an item is a free action.
Sheathing an item I would consider a minor action since it requires the same concentration and attention that drawing an item does, which is a minor action.

PS: The PHB doesn't have a comprehensive list of every possible act per action type, just a brief blurb about what types of actions fall in that category.
 


Khaalis said:
Sheathing an item I would consider a minor action since it requires the same concentration and attention that drawing an item does, which is a minor action.

I'd say sheathing/holstering takes more time and concentration than drawing does.
 


ForbidenMaster said:
But it doesnt, at least not according to the PHB.
Correct here. Keep in mind that the "actions" in 4E have been simplified. They fall under: Free, Minor, Move, Standard or Interrupt. Move is almost exclusively for movement related actions, and sheathing a weapon isnt as detailed as a true "standard action" but takes more concentration than a free action, thus falls into the minor action category.
 

ForbidenMaster said:
But it doesnt, at least not according to the PHB.

It takes the same amount of time within the granularity of the action system. But IRL, holstering is considerably more time consuming than drawing.
 

Remove ads

Top