Races of Destiny - Chameleon PrC - Initiate Feat

Infinite_Kydeem

First Post
Do my domains and initiate feat apply to my chameleon's divine spells
For Example:

Race = Human
Alignment = Neutral
Classes = Fighter 2 / Cleric 3 / Chameleon 10
God = Boccob, Domains Knowledge & Trickery
Feats = Able Learner, Arcane Initiate

Now when I use the Chameleon's Divine Focus:

My possible spell list includes:
All std cleric and druid spells 0 through 6th level {from Chameleon PrC}
PLUS
1st Detect Secret Doors, Disguise Self {domains}, and True Strike {initiate feat}
2nd Detect Thoughts and Invisibility {domains}
3rd Clairaudience/Clairvoyance, Nondetection {domains}, and Arcane Sight {initiate feat}
4th Confusion {domains}
5th False Vision {domains} and Rary's Telepathic Bond {initiate feat}
6th Mislead {domains}

I have a +2 insight bonus to Spellcraft skill checks {initiate feat}.
All Divination Spells are cast at +1 Caster Level {domains}.
(This includes arcane spells when using the Arcane Focus.)

Is this all correct?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Infinite_Kydeem said:
Do my domains and initiate feat apply to my chameleon's divine spells...
Feats = Able Learner, Arcane Initiate
By "Arcane Initiate" do you mean Arcane Insight? If so, the answer is that the Arcane Insight feat applies to a spell list that you have at the time the feat is taken. This would be the cleric spell list IMO, though others will allow you to apply it to a temporary ability gained via magic item, spell effect, or in this case, special ability. I wouldn't.

Assuming it's applied to your cleric spell list (cleric 3), then it would not apply to your chameleon-granted spell list, whatever class that happened to be. If you (or your DM) allow temporary abilities to apply to feats and such, then you could get what you want, but you'd have to take the feat at 7th level (2nd chameleon).

Infinite_Kydeem said:
My possible spell list includes:
All std cleric and druid spells 0 through 6th level {from Chameleon PrC}
I think there's a misunderstanding here. You get the spells of a cleric 3 always (spells per day not counting ability bonus: 4/2+1/1+1). Then, if you want to use Double Aptitude, you could also get druid spells (CL 20) with spells per day: 4/4/4/4/4/3/1. Since cleric and druid are both Divine Focus, "You can't adopt the same aptitude focus twice simultaneously." So, you can't then gain cleric (though you are still cleric 3). You could, however, gain wizard spells with the same CL and spells per day as druid.

Note that (if allowed) you applied the Arcane Insight to "cleric" Aptitude Focus, then it couldn't be applied to "druid" Aptitude Focus and vice versa.

Note that the table does not include domain spells, so you do not gain domain spells via the Aptitude Focus Divine Focus.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I think there's a misunderstanding here. You get the spells of a cleric 3 always (spells per day not counting ability bonus: 4/2+1/1+1). Then, if you want to use Double Aptitude, you could also get druid spells (CL 20) with spells per day: 4/4/4/4/4/3/1. Since cleric and druid are both Divine Focus, "You can't adopt the same aptitude focus twice simultaneously." So, you can't then gain cleric (though you are still cleric 3). You could, however, gain wizard spells with the same CL and spells per day as druid.
Well, theoretically, the PrC says he can draw off any divine spellcaster list - so a Paladin's Heal Mount, the Adept's Heal, and the Druid's Reincarnate can all be prepared at the same time..... but he's still only got the one set of divine spell slots, so.....
 

Jack Simth said:
Well, theoretically, the PrC says he can draw off any divine spellcaster list - so a Paladin's Heal Mount, the Adept's Heal, and the Druid's Reincarnate can all be prepared at the same time..... but he's still only got the one set of divine spell slots, so.....
So, you're suggesting that the wording is vague enough that you don't pick one spellcasting class? You can pick all of them? I don't recall that being the case, but it's certainly not the intent--I'm sure we agree about that. There are problems with the PrC, to be sure (because not all spell levels are equal), but I don't think this exploit is possible.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
By "Arcane Initiate" do you mean Arcane Insight? If so, the answer is that the Arcane Insight feat applies to a spell list that you have at the time the feat is taken. This would be the cleric spell list IMO, though others will allow you to apply it to a temporary ability gained via magic item, spell effect, or in this case, special ability. I wouldn't.

Yes, I meant to type:
Arcane Insight [Initiate]

The feat says, "...add the following spells to your cleric spell list." So now those are divine spells for your character.

Similarly, the domains make their spell lists into divine spells for your character. You don't get the domain spell slots, but they have become divine spells your charater.

The PrC says, "You gain the ability to prepare and cast divine spells, which may may be chosen from the spell list of any divine spellcasting class." I took this to mean cleric and druid (and I didn't think of adept, paladin, and ranger).

I can see how that could be intended to mean just one class at a time. If that was intended, 'someone' needs to work on their sentence construction.

This was how I interpreted it anyway. And yes I was asking the question because it did seem a bit overpowered.
 

Infinite_Kydeem said:
The feat says, "...add the following spells to your cleric spell list." So now those are divine spells for your character.
At that point, however, it depends on how you rule leveling up and whether temporary things can apply to permanent character choices. IMC, you would have to apply the feat to an existing, permanent class. I.e. your cleric 3. If you then use your chameleon PRC to mimic a cleric 20 (with up to 6th level spells), you will have two separate class spell lists, both amusingly cleric but one with domain spells.

Infinite_Kydeem said:
Similarly, the domains make their spell lists into divine spells for your character. You don't get the domain spell slots, but they have become divine spells your charater.
I'm not sure what you mean. But, if you don't gain domains, then you don't gain those domain spells on your class spell list. Thus, with Divine Focus, you don't get domain spells to cast nor on your spell list.
 

Remove ads

Top