When you make your attack roll with Ranged Pin then succeed in the grapple check is the opponent considered "grappled" or literally "pinned" as per the pinning rules in the PHB?
When you make your attack roll with Ranged Pin then succeed in the grapple check is the opponent considered "grappled" or literally "pinned" as per the pinning rules in the PHB?
Just grappled. To break free, they only need to make a DC 15 Strength or Escape Artist check. (Generally when you are pinned, you need to make two rolls to escape a grapple.)
I think they just couldn't find a better word than "Pin" to describe this feat. They sure are confusing their terms in 3.5. (Weapon sizing rules being the number one culprit.)