Ranged touch spells and targeting carried items

Sithobi1

First Post
Is it possible to use a ranged touch attack to target an item, so as to destroy it? What about an Eldritch Blast from a Warlock? Please give quotes to support any answer; thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad




I don't think a source is needed. If a spell can target an object then it can target an object. It doesn't matter if the item is on the ground or in somene's possession, although how hard it is to hit it would be debatable (the possessor's dex mod might count for example). Also, saves would be the possessor's save unless its a magical item with a better saving throw.
 

Attacking object Held, Carried or Won object, it is solved by Sunder rule (PHB P.158). You need slashing or bludgeoning melee weapon to do it. By RAW, you need Ranged Sunder feat (from Complete Warrior) to sunder with ranged attack.
 

I don't think there's anything to stop you attacking specific objects with a ranged spell(-like ability). You can use telekinesis to disarm someone, and I don't see that TK should be treated as a special case in this regard. That said, I really dislike this sort of thing, if done on a regular basis. It smacks too much of called shots ("I shoot the giant in the eye, that'll kill him no matter how many hit points he has!").
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top