Hypersmurf
Moderatarrrrh...
aland said:The Rapid Spell feat states that a rapid spell with casting time measured by rounds could be cast in full round, and the casting time of SNA X is 1 round that is measured by rounds (1 round, 2 rounds, etc.).
Right, except that it's also a spell with a casting time of one full round.
A Rapid Lesser Restoration (normally 3 round casting time) has a casting time of one full round. Not a full round action, but one full round.
SNA has a casting time measured in rounds, but it's more specifically a spell with a casting time of one round, and there's a specific rule for spells with a casting time of one round that applies, rather than the general rule for spells with a casting time measured in rounds.
Notice that the feat doesn't mention what happens to a spell with a casting time of one full round action. Which makes sense, because prepared casters don't have any spells with that casting time, and spontaneous casters can't use Rapid Spell with them.
So acording to rhe rule, if Rapid spell is applied to a spontaneously cast SNA x...
You can't. Rapid Spell can only be applied to a spontaneous spell if the casting time is longer than one full round. Not a full round action, a round. SNA has a casting time of one round - not longer than one full round, and thus not eligible for Rapid Spell when cast spontaneously.
In the Complete Mage, however, I found something very controversial.
Complete Mage got the feat wrong. Unless you're not casting it spontaneously, in which case it's right.
Since 1-round casting time is totally different from full-round casting,
A one round casting time is different to a casting time of a full round action. Not different to a casting time of one full round.
-Hyp.
Last edited: