Reach and close burst 1

MerricB

Eternal Optimist
Supporter
If I use a Reach weapon with a Close Burst 1 weapon attack (say the new Astral Wave), do I hit every creature within 2 squares of me?

Cheers!
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Cignus is correct. It is an exception to the rule. You might have a Reach 2 weapon, however your power specifies Close burst 1.
 

I was just looking at the sloppy wording of Reach in the online glossary. Sigh.

Reach
With a reach weapon, you can attack enemies that are 2 squares away from you as well as adjacent enemies, with no attack penalty. You can still make opportunity attacks only against adjacent enemies. Likewise, you can flank only an adjacent enemy.
 

I don't see that as sloppy. I forget the page number, but the rules specifically say in a sentence or two that specific overwrites the general.
 

I agree that it's sloppy. RC page 100 is a lot more clear- if a power's range is melee weapon, that's the only time when the weapon's reach matters. Melee touch is only the creature's reach, and melee [number] overrides both, regardless of whether that's higher or lower than the usual reach.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top