Reach weapons, large creatures and 5 ft. steps

hong said:
I'm "giving cover to myself" RIGHT NOW, IKYWIM etc etc etc.


Hong "this is why I never leave the house" Ooi

This is like the bank robber stepping into the bank with two guns. With one, he threatens the customers, the other he holds against his head and screams "GIVE ME YOUR MONEY OR THE BLOODY HOSTAGE GETS IT!"
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Iku Rex said:
Cover (SRD): "To determine whether your target has cover from your [reach weapon], choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC)."

As someone pointed out the other day, this doesn't require creatures with a 10' face.

If instead we have an orc two squares away from me, there will always be a line from the corner of my square to a corner of his square that passes through a square occupied by a creature... namely, the orc. To get from the corner of my square to the back corner of the orc's square, the line must pass through the orc's square, which by definition is a square occupied by a creature.

And since in 3.5, the rule about Striking Cover instead of a Missed Target doesn't seem to have made the cut, the whole "But if he's giving cover to himself, you hit him anyway" theory doesn't apply.

-Hyp.
 

if a square is round how many side does it have? this makes about as much sence as a creature providing cover for itself and not taking damage if its cover is damaged.

if you accept that a creature can provide itself with cover and apply that to your game then don't ever have your players encounter a "big" ooze because it will be providing itself with cover all day.
 


Sanackranib said:
if you accept that a creature can provide itself with cover and apply that to your game then don't ever have your players encounter a "big" ooze because it will be providing itself with cover all day.
But if you miss because of the cover, then the cover(itself) is struck instead.

This, of course, is silly, so a creature cannot provide cover to itself unless parts of itself are clearly designed to be used as large shields.
 


Whatever happened to common-sense interpretation of rules? A creature can clearly not provide cover to itself.

Also, what is a Large creature doing with a Huge longspear? We seem to be talking about 3.5e here, and a longspear is a two-handed weapon. A large creature using a huge weapon would increase the "handedness" by one step, which means the longspear would fall into the "too big" category.
 

Staffan said:
Also, what is a Large creature doing with a Huge longspear? We seem to be talking about 3.5e here, and a longspear is a two-handed weapon. A large creature using a huge weapon would increase the "handedness" by one step, which means the longspear would fall into the "too big" category.
Fixed. (It doesn't matter.)
 

Staffan said:
Whatever happened to common-sense interpretation of rules?

Has been banned from the forums at least a year before I signed on. As far as I heard, it spoilt the fun for the trolls and People for the Ethical Threatment of Trolls - PETT - complained.
 

Certain people seem to have a hard time understanding the question. I'll try (and probably fail) to explain it better.

RRSLL
RRSLL

R: Large creature wielding a longspear
S: Open square
L: Large creature

By the rules:
"R" can not attack "L" in any of the two foremost squares. He'll have to strike into one of the rearmost squares. (This is not a problem - when fighting a creature that takes up more than one square you can choose which square to attack.) This attack has to be "through a square occupied by a creature", and therefore the target gets a +4 cover bonus. Whether or not he "strikes the cover" (a variant rule, page 24 in DMG) is irrelevant, as "R" cannot damage "L" at 10 ft. range.

Common sense:
Since "L" is standing closer to "R" than the range where "R" can easily use his weapon, "L" should have an advantage. This can be represented by a +4 cover bonus to AC. This makes perfect sense.
 

Remove ads

Top