Bront said:You get an AoA in any space you threaten. Which actualy means with a reach weapon, you don't threaten the square next to you (Unless it's a whip or spiked chain, or other strange reach/close weapon).
In 3.0, yes. In 3.5, no. A whip is now a melee reach weapon that does not threaten any squares.Goolpsy said:A whip is considered a Ranged weapon, (sadly)
Which would basicly mean that people threatening you, would get AoO if you use the whip...
You trip them in the square where you made the AoO, i.e. the square he was leaving. He has not left yet. It's the act of leaving the square you threaten that causes the AoO. There's really no counterargument.Celebrim said:While we are on the subject, I'm sure that this is written somewhere but when a person with a reach weapon gains an AoO because the opponent left the threatened square, and chooses to use that AoO as a trip attack, if the trip is successful where does the opponent land? In the square he was leaving, or in the square that he was entering? Its come up several times and I've just used a quick ruling and gone with it, but exactly what do the RAW say? I can see arguments on both sides.