Readied action and immediate action question

OnlineDM

Adventurer
I had an interesting little rules question come up last night.

A monster knew that PCs would be coming through a curtain, so he backed up from the curtain a readied to bite the first PC that entered a square adjacent to him. However, the monster also had an immediate action that triggered when a PC entered an adjacent square.

Can the monster do both the readied action and the immediate action when the PC comes adjacent?

For rule of fun, I had the readied action go off, and saved the immediate action for the NEXT time a PC came adjacent, which worked out just fine.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


You made the correct call, the relevant section from the compendium is:
Trigger: Each immediate action—usually a power—defines its specific trigger. The one type of immediate action that every combatant can take is a readied action.

Once per Round: You can take only one immediate action per round, either an immediate interrupt or an immediate reaction. If you take an immediate action, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn, but you can’t take an immediate action on your own turn.

So you could do one or the other, but not both in a single round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top